BlockBefore
Photograph of Hazen Store
Photograph by William Hoffknecht, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Hazen Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

From the record

“The Hazen Store is a small complex of buildings in Hazen, Nevada, listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The store provided a stopping point in a remote portion of U.S.”

Wikipedia article Hazen Store, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 16 National Register listings published here for Churchill County · listed in 2002 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 600 Reno Highway, Hazen, 89408
  • When was it listed? January 2002
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Fallon
  • National Register reference number. 01001547 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

6 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of Hazen Store between 1992 and 2020, burning about 64 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
24 July 2005Smokingunder an acreCarson City District OfficeTRACYCLARK
16 July 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresCarson City District OfficeHIGHLAND
4 June 1992Natural7.0 acresCarson City District OfficeFERNLEY 2
27 April 2020Debris and open burning34 acresChurchill County Fire Protection DistrictHART LANE
7 February 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresWinnemucca District OfficeHAZEN
1 October 2020Debris and open burningunder an acreCarson City District OfficePILE N. LYON

Every fire recorded in Churchill County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Hazen Store: 4 producers, 4 past producers, 2 occurrences, 1 prospect. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Diatomite, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Borrow PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hazen Pit & MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hazen Sand & Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Swingle Bench PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Sand DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hazen PitDiatomitePast Producer
Section 17 MineDiatomiteProducer1980
Section 17 MineDiatomitePast Producer
Section 8 MineDiatomiteProducer
Unnamed Diatomite DepositDiatomiteOccurrence

Every working recorded in Churchill County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Carson River Diversion Dam5.3 miles1981
Lahontan Dam and Power Station7.3 miles1981

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 01001547 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Churchill CountyAll 16 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.