From the record
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 1975 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.
One of 24 National Register listings published here for Douglas County · listed in 1975 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 101 fires within 5 miles of Genoa Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 638 acres in total. 47 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 47 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 3 |
| Debris and open burning | 2 |
| Fireworks | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit | SKYLINE |
| 7 September 1997 | Misuse of fire by a minor | under an acre | Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit | LIBRARY |
| 25 September 1994 | Natural | under an acre | Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit | not named |
| 25 September 1994 | Natural | under an acre | Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest | USFS 094 |
| 24 September 1994 | Natural | under an acre | Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit | not named |
| 20 September 2006 | Other causes | 1.0 acres | Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest | GENOA 2 |
| 20 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest | KINGSBURY |
| 16 September 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Carson City District Office | RAMSEY 1 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 16 workings within 5 miles of Genoa Historic District: 6 occurrences, 5 past producers, 3 prospects, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Uranium, Sulfur, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Genoa Claims | Gold, Copper, Silver | Unknown | ||
| Granite Group | Uranium, Copper | Occurrence | Chrysocolla | |
| Hunch and Lucky Strike Claims | Uranium, Thorium | Occurrence | Allanite | |
| Kingbury Queen Prospect | Quartz, Uranium | Prospect | ||
| Section 21 Prospect | Copper | Occurrence | Vein | |
| Valleys Hot Spring | Geothermal | Producer | ||
| Section 10 Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction, Sulfur | Occurrence | ||
| Section 15 Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction, Sulfur | Occurrence | ||
| Granite Group Nos 1-5 | Uranium | Prospect | ||
| Hunch and Lucky Strike Claims | Uranium | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Minden, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 2001 and 2018: 4 heavy rain, 2 flood, 1 lightning, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2006 | Flood | Minden | $524,000 | no account filed |
| July 2001 | Lightning | Minden | $2,000 | no account filed |
| November 2018 | Heavy Rain | Minden | - | CO-OP Observer in Minden reported 0.52 inches of rainfall from 21 November 1100PST to 22 November 0600PST. |
| April 2018 | Flood | Minden | - | Trained weather spotter reported that the East Fork of the Carson River was above its banks between Cedarwood Drive and Muller Lane. Ending time of flooding is based upon data from a nearby USGS gauge. |
| May 2018 | Heavy Rain | Minden | - | COOP observer station MINN2, Minden reported 0.58 inches of rainfall over a 24-hour period from 24 May 0500PST to 25 May 0500PST. |
| July 2005 | Flash Flood | Minden | - | Heavy rainfall over the Pine Nut Mountains caused flash flooding in the Johnson Lane area north of Minden. Several roads were closed because of the high water. |
| July 2003 | Heavy Rain | Minden | - | A spotter measured .60 inches of rain in 15 minutes from a thunderstorm. |
| November 2002 | Heavy Rain | Minden | - | 24 hour rainfall total of 1.75 inches. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Reese-Johnson-Virgin House | 0.1 miles | 2004 |
![]() | Home Ranch | 4.9 miles | 1980 |
![]() | Minden Elementary School | 5.4 miles | 2008 |
![]() | Minden Wool Warehouse | 5.5 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Douglas County Courthouse | 5.5 miles | 1986 |
![]() | Minden Butter Manufacturing Company | 5.5 miles | 1986 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 75001108 in Record Group 79. |
| Douglas County | All 24 listed properties in this county. |