BlockBefore
Photograph of District Number 7 School
Photograph by Jerrye & Roy Klotz, MD, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

District Number 7 School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1900.

From the record

One of 64 National Register listings published here for Tompkins County · listed in 2004 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Mill Rd. at the Park, Speedsville, 13736
  • When was it listed? November 2004
  • Category. building
  • Town. Caroline town
  • Architectural style. Greek Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 04000701 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1900 to 1992

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 92 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering District Number 7 School, surveyed 1992
Topographic sheet covering District Number 7 School, surveyed 1900

Fires near this property

45 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 45 fires within 5 miles of District Number 7 School between 2001 and 2020, burning about 48 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined24
Debris and open burning12
Natural4
Arson/incendiarism4
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 2005Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
26 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
25 September 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
16 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
28 July 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
27 July 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
25 July 2017Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in Tompkins County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of District Number 7 School: 1 producer. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Harrington PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Tompkins County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
St. John's Episcopal0.1 miles2000
St. Thomas' Episcopal Church7.8 miles1995
District No. 2 School, Caroline and Dryden7.9 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04000701 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Tompkins CountyAll 64 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.