BlockBefore
Photograph of Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House
Photograph by OneEagle, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House

Built in 1861 (Italianate architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1906.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2004 · category: Building · built in 1861, Italianate architecture.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building, 1 object as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Baldwin, Benjamin Gordon, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 26 Baldwin Ave., Norwood, 13668
  • When was it listed? September 2004
  • Category. building
  • Town. Potsdam town
  • When was it built? 1861
  • Architectural style. Italianate architecture
  • National Register reference number. 04000994 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1906 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 88 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House, surveyed 1906

Fires near this property

178 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 178 fires within 5 miles of Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House between 2000 and 2020, burning about 189 acres in total. 15 started naturally. 35 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined109
Arson/incendiarism35
Natural15
Debris and open burning8
Equipment and vehicle use6
Smoking4
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
5 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
5 September 2018Smoking3.1 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A
29 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
23 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
22 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
22 September 2002Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
20 September 2007Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House: 5 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, General, Dolomite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Barrett QuarryDolomitePast ProducerSurface
Norwood QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
La Rue PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
La Rue PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Norwood QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

6 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Norwood, the town this property stands in, in 6 storm reports between 1997 and 2024: 4 thunderstorm wind, 1 lightning, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2021Thunderstorm WindNorwood$20,000Numerous trees and utility lines downed by thunderstorm winds.
June 2007Thunderstorm WindNorwood$20,000Numerous trees and power lines downed by strong winds.
June 2007Thunderstorm WindNorwood$10,000Numerous trees were blown down.
June 1997LightningNorwood$10,000no account filed
July 2024Thunderstorm WindNorwood$5,000A few reports of trees down and on utility lines in the Norwood vicinity.
July 2008HailNorwood-Quarter size hail reported by Postal Service employee.

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hale Cemetery2.6 miles2024
Hepburn Library3.4 miles2004
First Presbyterian Church of Dailey Ridge3.6 miles2002
West Stockholm Historic District5.2 miles1979
Watkins-Sisson House5.6 miles2013
Jonathan Wallace House5.7 miles2003

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04000994 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.