BlockBefore

Pickens Hall

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1904.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2004 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 83 State St., Heuvelton, 13654
  • When was it listed? October 2004
  • Category. building
  • Town. Oswegatchie town
  • Architectural style. Renaissance Revival architecture
  • National Register reference number. 04001205 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1904 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 44 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Pickens Hall, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering Pickens Hall, surveyed 1904

Fires near this property

74 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 74 fires within 5 miles of Pickens Hall between 2003 and 2020, burning about 40 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined45
Arson/incendiarism20
Natural5
Smoking2
Other causes1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
25 September 2007Other causesunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
19 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
15 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
13 September 2008Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
21 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
12 August 2017Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
9 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.2 acresFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Pickens Hall: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, Dimension. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

9 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Heuvelton, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1995 and 2021: 6 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 1997LightningHeuvelton$50,000A thunderstorm complex caused a lightning strike which killed about 15 cattle, caused structural damage and destroyed numerous bales of hay.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$10,000Numerous trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2013Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$10,000Several trees downed and Route 184 closed.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$10,000Trees and power lines down.
August 2017Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$5,000Several trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2005Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$5,000no account filed
July 1995Thunderstorm WindHeuvelton$4,000Slow moving severe thunderstorms with very heavy rain moved across the Capital District, the Saratoga Region, the Mid-Hudson valley and over the Saint Lawrence Valley. Flash flooding occurred in Saratoga County in the vicinity of Lake Nancy as Joby Creek, Cadman Creek and Alder Creek went out of their banks. In addition the lake level at Lake Nancy rose over a foot. Large hail occurred in Saratoga County near Middle Grove. Damaging thunderstorm winds downed trees and power lines.
September 2019HailHeuvelton-One and one-quarter inch size hail reported.
July 2016HailHeuvelton-Dime size hail was reported.

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
U.S. Post Office4.2 miles1977
Halfway House4.6 miles2023
Congregational Church4.7 miles2005
New York State Armory6.5 miles1976
Oswegatchie Pumping Station6.5 miles1990
First Baptist Church of Ogdensburg Complex6.6 miles2018

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 04001205 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.