BlockBefore

U.S. Post Office

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1904.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 1977 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 431 State St., Ogdensburg, 13669
  • When was it listed? August 1977
  • Category. building
  • Town. Oswegatchie town
  • Architectural style. Neoclassical architecture
  • National Register reference number. 77001525 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1904 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 44 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering U.S. Post Office, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering U.S. Post Office, surveyed 1904

Fires near this property

72 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 72 fires within 5 miles of U.S. Post Office between 2002 and 2020, burning about 32 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined36
Arson/incendiarism24
Natural5
Smoking3
Debris and open burning2
Other causes1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
25 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
25 September 2007Other causesunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
2 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
19 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
18 September 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
31 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
29 August 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of U.S. Post Office: 10 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, Dimension, Dolomite, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ogdensburg QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Unnamed Sand & Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unnamed Sand & Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Howard's QuarryDolomitePast Producer
Mc Conville Inc. QuarryDolomitePast Producer1885
Unnamed QuarryDolomitePast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/Broken, Limestone, DimensionPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

26 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ogdensburg, the town this property stands in, in 26 storm reports between 1997 and 2022: 12 thunderstorm wind, 11 hail, 2 flood, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
October 2010FloodOgdensburg$150,000Heavy rain produced flooding in Canton, Ogdensburg, and Potsdam. In Canton, New York State 11 was closed between Routes 310 and 68 by high water. Thirty five to forty homes in Ogdensburg had basement flooding, and there were multiple reports of city street flooding. In Potsdam water inundated the first floor of a home, and there was extensive flooding of streets, yards, and basements.
September 2010FloodOgdensburg$150,000Heavy rain produced flooding in Canton, Ogdensburg, and Potsdam. In Canton, New York State 11 was closed between Routes 310 and 68 by high water. Thirty five to forty homes in Ogdensburg had basement flooding, and there were multiple reports of city street flooding. In Potsdam water inundated the first floor of a home, and there was extensive flooding of streets, yards, and basements.
July 2010Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$50,000Trees and Powerlines down throughout Ogdensburg and Route 37 closed to Waddington.
August 2010Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$50,000Multiple full grown maple trees uprooted with damage to vehicles and some small structures on Elizabeth, Hamilton, Caroline, Franklin, State, Morris and Washington streets.
July 1999Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$40,000no account filed
May 2022Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$25,000Numerous trees and power lines downed by thunderstorm winds, as well as a few structures receiving minor damage.
July 2013Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$20,000Numerous trees, tree limbs downed and utility pole snapped.
July 2011Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$20,000Several trees down across the area as well as a 100 foot pine tree across a truck.
July 1999Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$20,000no account filed
July 2011Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$15,000Trees and fence blown down in yard and a heavily damaged.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$10,000Several large trees and power lines down as well as measured wind gust of 59 mph.
August 1997HailOgdensburg$10,000Trees and power lines were blown down in addition to the hail.
September 2001Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$5,000no account filed
March 2000LightningOgdensburg$5,000no account filed
June 1997Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg$5,000no account filed
May 2005HailOgdensburg$1,000no account filed
September 2013HailOgdensburg-Nickel to quarter size hail reported.
July 2010HailOgdensburg-Several reports of nickel to quarter to slightly larger size diameter hail reported in and near Ogdensburg.
June 2009HailOgdensburg-Nickel size hail reported in Ogdensburg.
June 2009HailOgdensburg-Additional reports of nickel size hail in and around Ogdensburg.
July 2008HailOgdensburg-Nickel to quarter size hail reported in Ogdensburg.
July 2008Thunderstorm WindOgdensburg-Thunderstorm winds, accompanied by large hail, downed several large branches.
July 2003HailOgdensburg-no account filed
March 2000HailOgdensburg-no account filed
July 2000HailOgdensburg-no account filed
July 2000HailOgdensburg-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Pickens Hall4.2 miles2004
New York State Armory5.3 miles1976
Oswegatchie Pumping Station5.3 miles1990
First Baptist Church of Ogdensburg Complex5.5 miles2018
Judge John Fine House5.6 miles1986
Acker and Evans Law Office5.7 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 77001525 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.