BlockBefore
Photograph of Simeon Sage House
Photograph by rogerhogle, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Simeon Sage House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2010. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1899.

From the record

“Simeon Sage House is a historic home located at Scottsville in Monroe County, New York. It was built about 1830 and consists of a 1-story, five-by-two-bay, rectangular main block with a smaller 1-story rectangular rear wing in a vernacular Federal style.”

Wikipedia article Simeon Sage House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2010 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Sage, Simeon, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 69 Main St., Scottsville, 14546
  • When was it listed? January 2010
  • Category. building
  • Town. Wheatland town
  • National Register reference number. 09001285 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

117 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 117 fires within 5 miles of Simeon Sage House between 2000 and 2020, burning about 91 acres in total. 15 started naturally. 27 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined34
Arson/incendiarism27
Debris and open burning17
Natural15
Smoking11
Equipment and vehicle use7
Recreation and ceremony3
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2008Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
29 September 2004Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
2 September 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
17 September 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 August 2010Arson/incendiarismunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
3 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
24 August 2010Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Monroe County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 18 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Simeon Sage House: 13 past producers, 5 producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gypsum-Anhydrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Abandoned Gypsum WorkingsGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Consolidated Wheatland Plaster ShftGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Empire Gypsum Co. MineGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Garbutt Gypsum Co Shaft #1Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Lycoming Calcining Co Mine #1Gypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
M. Rogers Farm Gypsum DepositGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Mcvane Farm AditGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer
Miller PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Miller Pit and PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Monarch Plaster Co. ShaftGypsum-AnhydritePast Producer

Every working recorded in Monroe County

Storms near this property

10 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Scottsville, the town this property stands in, in 10 storm reports between 1998 and 2025: 6 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 flash flood, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2007Thunderstorm WindScottsville$15,000no account filed
May 1998Thunderstorm WindScottsville$15,000no account filed
November 2017FloodScottsville$10,000Oatka Creek at Garbutt crested at 6.52 feet at 8:30 AM on the 7th (Flood Stage is 6 feet).
June 2017Thunderstorm WindScottsville$10,000Broadcast media reported trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds on Quaker Road.
March 2009FloodScottsville$10,000no account filed
May 2019Thunderstorm WindScottsville$2,000Trees and wires were reported down.
July 2020Thunderstorm WindScottsville$1,000Two trees were down on Quaker Road.
August 2020Thunderstorm WindScottsville$1,000Trees were down onto Route 251.
August 2021Flash FloodScottsville-Water was reported to be flowing over the roadway near South Road and Bowerman Road.
May 2025HailScottsville-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Monroe County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Oatka Cemetery0.5 miles2014
Cox-Budlong House0.6 miles2015
Windom Hall0.6 miles1994
Union Presbyterian Church0.7 miles2004
Grace Church0.8 miles2010
Rochester Street Historic District0.9 miles1973

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 09001285 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Monroe CountyAll 233 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.