From the record
One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2014 · category: Site.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2014. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1899.
One of 233 National Register listings published here for Monroe County · listed in 2014 · category: Site.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 110 fires within 5 miles of Oatka Cemetery between 2000 and 2020, burning about 71 acres in total. 15 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 24 |
| Debris and open burning | 17 |
| Natural | 15 |
| Smoking | 11 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 8 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 29 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 2 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 17 September 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 9 August 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 3 August 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 24 August 2010 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 23 August 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Oatka Cemetery: 13 past producers, 5 producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gypsum-Anhydrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abandoned Gypsum Workings | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Consolidated Wheatland Plaster Shft | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Empire Gypsum Co. Mine | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Garbutt Gypsum Co Shaft #1 | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Lycoming Calcining Co Mine #1 | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| M. Rogers Farm Gypsum Deposit | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Mcvane Farm Adit | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer | ||
| Miller Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Miller Pit and Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Monarch Plaster Co. Shaft | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Simeon Sage House | 0.5 miles | 2010 |
![]() | Union Presbyterian Church | 0.9 miles | 2004 |
![]() | Windom Hall | 0.9 miles | 1994 |
![]() | Grace Church | 1.0 miles | 2010 |
![]() | David McVean House | 1.0 miles | 2006 |
| Cox-Budlong House | 1.1 miles | 2015 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 14000025 in Record Group 79. |
| Monroe County | All 233 listed properties in this county. |