BlockBefore

Niagara Power Project Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1894.

From the record

One of 99 National Register listings published here for Niagara County · listed in 2017 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 5777 Lewiston Rd. (Power Vista), Lewiston, 14305
  • When was it listed? July 2017
  • Category. district
  • Town. Niagara town
  • National Register reference number. 100001265 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Then and now

1894 to 1995

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 101 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Niagara Power Project Historic District, surveyed 1995
Topographic sheet covering Niagara Power Project Historic District, surveyed 1894

Fires near this property

835 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 835 fires within 5 miles of Niagara Power Project Historic District between 2000 and 2020, burning about 442 acres in total. 97 started naturally. 122 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined424
Arson/incendiarism122
Natural97
Smoking57
Equipment and vehicle use48
Debris and open burning48
Railroad operations and maintenance19
Misuse of fire by a minor12
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Recreation and ceremony2
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
8 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 September 2020Recreation and ceremony1.2 acresFire Department of New YorkNA
6 September 2020Equipment and vehicle use5.0 acresFire Department of New YorkNA

Every fire recorded in Niagara County

Mines and quarries near this property

7 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Niagara Power Project Historic District: 4 unknowns, 2 producers, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Graphite, Zirconium, Chromium, Abrasive. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lead Industries/Niagara Falls, N.Y.ZirconiumUnknown
Niagara Falls QuarryLimestone, GeneralPast ProducerSedimentary
Niagara St0ne QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
SKW Alloys/ Niagara Falls, N.Y.Iron, Manganese, GraphiteProducer
Special Abrasives/Niagara Falls, NyAbrasiveUnknown
Union Carbide/ Niagara Falls, N.Y.Chromium, GraphiteUnknown
Great Lakes Carbon/Niagara Falls NyGraphiteUnknown

Every working recorded in Niagara County

Storms near this property

9 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lewiston, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1994 and 2004: 7 thunderstorm wind, 1 heavy snow, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 1999Thunderstorm WindLewiston$55,000no account filed
January 1999Heavy SnowLewiston$40,000no account filed
June 1995Thunderstorm WindLewiston$25,000no account filed
July 1999Thunderstorm WindLewiston$20,000no account filed
July 2004Flash FloodLewiston$15,000no account filed
June 1998Thunderstorm WindLewiston$12,000no account filed
June 2002Thunderstorm WindLewiston$8,000no account filed
May 1994Thunderstorm WindLewiston$5,000A cold front crossed the area accompanied by severe thunderstorms. The thunderstorm winds downed trees and power lines. Scattered power outages were reported throughout the county.
June 1999Thunderstorm WindLewiston$5,000no account filed

Every storm recorded in Niagara County

Maps showing this location

12 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church Complex2.3 miles2019
Former Niagara Falls High School2.3 miles2002
Main Street Historic District2.4 miles2021
U.S. Customhouse2.5 miles1973
Oakwood Cemetery2.5 miles2014
Schoellkopf Hall2.6 miles2023

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100001265 in Record Group 79.
Niagara CountyAll 99 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.