From the record
One of 187 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 2018 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1904.
One of 187 National Register listings published here for Orange County · listed in 2018 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 613 fires within 5 miles of Crane House between 1998 and 2020, burning about 553 acres in total. 26 started naturally. 95 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 387 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 95 |
| Debris and open burning | 48 |
| Natural | 26 |
| Smoking | 25 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 21 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 6 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 8 September 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 8 September 2015 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 7 September 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.3 acres | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 7 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 7 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 7 September 2001 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 6 September 2005 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Crane House: 4 producers, 2 past producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Benson's Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Bloomingburg Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Bloomingburg Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Bloomingburg Pit and Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Wallkill Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Wallkill Pit and Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | John Tears Inn | 3.3 miles | 1997 |
| Oliver Avenue Bridge | 3.9 miles | 1984 | |
![]() | New York, Ontario & Western Railway Company Middletown Station | 4.1 miles | 2014 |
![]() | John G. Beakes House | 4.2 miles | 2010 |
![]() | Cash-Draper House | 4.3 miles | 2017 |
![]() | Grace Episcopal Church | 4.4 miles | 2010 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100002465 in Record Group 79. |
| Orange County | All 187 listed properties in this county. |