BlockBefore

First Congregational Church of Madrid

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2010. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1905.

From the record

“United Church Of Madrid, formerly the First Congregational Church of Madrid, is a historic church in Madrid, St.”

Wikipedia article United Church of Madrid, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2010 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 6 Cross St; 32 Main St, Madrid, 13660
  • When was it listed? November 2010
  • Category. building
  • Town. Madrid town
  • National Register reference number. 10000914 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1905 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 43 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering First Congregational Church of Madrid, surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering First Congregational Church of Madrid, surveyed 1905

Fires near this property

97 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 97 fires within 5 miles of First Congregational Church of Madrid between 2002 and 2020, burning about 91 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 32 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined51
Arson/incendiarism32
Debris and open burning5
Natural5
Smoking1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
21 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
18 September 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
4 August 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
28 August 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
15 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
15 August 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.2 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
7 July 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
3 July 2007Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of First Congregational Church of Madrid: 1 past producer, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Town of Madrid Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Town of Madrid Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

10 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Madrid, the town this property stands in, in 10 storm reports between 1994 and 2023: 7 thunderstorm wind, 3 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2023Thunderstorm WindMadrid$10,000Several trees and branches downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindMadrid$10,000Trees and wires down.
August 1996Thunderstorm WindMadrid$10,000no account filed
September 2019Thunderstorm WindMadrid$5,000A few trees and power lines downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 1997Thunderstorm WindMadrid$5,000Trees blown down.
July 1997Thunderstorm WindMadrid$5,000no account filed
May 2005HailMadrid$1,000no account filed
August 1994Thunderstorm WindMadrid$500A cold front moved southeast from Canada into northern New York during the late afternoon and evening hours of August 4th resulting in severe thunderstorms across parts of St. Lawrence County. Thunderstorm winds downed numerous trees in Morristown with scattered reports of trees and powerlines down elsewhere in the county. Nickel-size hail was reported along the west shore of Tupper Lake.
July 2007HailMadrid-Nickel size hail reported.
July 1997HailMadrid-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
First Presbyterian Church of Dailey Ridge3.4 miles2002
Buck's Bridge United Methodist Church3.7 miles2004
Benjamin Gordon Baldwin House6.9 miles2004
Harrison Grist Mill6.9 miles1982
Chase Mills Inn7.1 miles1978
Trinity Episcopal Chapel7.1 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 10000914 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.