BlockBefore

All Souls' Church Summer Camp Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023. 11 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1921.

From the record

One of 79 National Register listings published here for Sullivan County · listed in 2023 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 221 O'Keefe Hill Rd., Parksville, 12768
  • When was it listed? July 2023
  • Category. district
  • Town. Liberty town
  • National Register reference number. 100009170 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

138 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 138 fires within 5 miles of All Souls' Church Summer Camp Historic District between 1997 and 2020, burning about 155 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 17 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined82
Debris and open burning18
Arson/incendiarism17
Equipment and vehicle use8
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Smoking3
Natural2
Recreation and ceremony1
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
29 September 2020Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreFire Department of New YorkNA
28 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
21 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
17 September 2012Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
1 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
8 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.5 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
31 August 2007Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Sullivan County

Storms near this property

3 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Parksville, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2010 and 2018: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2014Tornado (EF1)Parksville$10,000An EF1 tornado with estimated maximum wind speeds of 90 MPH had a path width of 270 yards and a path length of 3/4 of a mile. Cosmetic damage occurred to siding, roofing and chimneys to two residences. Numerous yard ornaments and rail fencing was displaces to the left hand side of the path. Catastrophic tree damage with blow downs, snap-offs and twisting of hardwoods and large hemlock trees occurred in the core of the path.
May 2018Thunderstorm WindParksville$5,000Trees blown down near Main street and Route 17 blocking both lanes of road.
July 2010Thunderstorm WindParksville$1,000Several trees were blown down on Aden Hill Road.

Every storm recorded in Sullivan County

Maps showing this location

11 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100009170 in Record Group 79.
Sullivan CountyAll 79 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.