From the record
One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1910.
One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 2024 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
The ground this property stands on, surveyed 38 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 65 fires within 5 miles of St. Lawrence County Government Complex between 2003 and 2020, burning about 48 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 42 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 9 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 6 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 25 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 2 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 4 August 2017 | Natural | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
| 28 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | not named |
| 20 August 2020 | Natural | 5.0 acres | Fire Department of New York | NA |
| 11 August 2016 | Smoking | under an acre | Fire Department of New York | N/A |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of St. Lawrence County Government Complex: 7 past producers, 2 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Marble, Dimension, Sulfur-Pyrite, Sulfur. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brick Chapel Prospect | Sulfur-Pyrite | Occurrence | ||
| Brick Chapel Prospect | Sulfur | Occurrence | ||
| Steven's Quarry | Dolomite | Past Producer | ||
| Tuppers Quarry | Granite | Past Producer | 1885 | |
| E. E Stevens Quarry | Marble, Dimension | Past Producer | ||
| Nickerson Quarry | Marble, Dimension | Past Producer | ||
| Morley Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarries | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Canton, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1997 and 2024: 13 thunderstorm wind, 2 lightning, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $20,000 | Numerous trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| May 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $20,000 | Trees and wires down throughout portions of Canton, including along County Route 21 and a telephone pole down across Pink Schoolhouse road. |
| July 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $20,000 | Numerous trees down in Canton and many locations within St. Lawrence county. |
| June 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $20,000 | Reports of numerous trees down in Canton. |
| July 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $10,000 | Several trees downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| May 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $10,000 | Scattered trees and power lines down across sections of Canton. |
| July 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $10,000 | Several trees and power lines down. |
| July 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $5,000 | Several large tree limbs downed by thunderstorm winds. |
| July 2005 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $5,000 | no account filed |
| May 2000 | Lightning | Canton | $5,000 | no account filed |
| September 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $5,000 | no account filed |
| August 1997 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $5,000 | no account filed |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $2,000 | Downed tree and limbs into powerlines. |
| July 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Canton | $2,000 | A few trees downed by thunderstorm winds on Judson Street. |
| August 2017 | Lightning | Canton | $1,000 | Lightning started a tree fire in Canton. |
| July 2012 | Hail | Canton | - | Dollar to just under golf ball size hail reported. |
| October 2001 | Hail | Canton | - | no account filed |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the coordinate the National Park Service records for this property, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase II) | 0.1 miles | 2008 |
![]() | 53 Main Street, Village Park Historic District | 0.2 miles | 1975 |
![]() | US Post Office-Canton | 0.2 miles | 1988 |
![]() | Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase) | 0.2 miles | 1983 |
![]() | Village Park Historic District | 0.2 miles | 1975 |
![]() | Herring-Cole Hall, St. Lawrence University | 0.5 miles | 1974 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100010267 in Record Group 79. |
| St. Lawrence County | All 83 listed properties in this county. |