BlockBefore
Photograph of Village Park Historic District
Photograph by Mwanner, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase)

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1910.

From the record

One of 83 National Register listings published here for St. Lawrence County · listed in 1983 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

Then and now

1910 to 1948

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 38 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase), surveyed 1948
Topographic sheet covering Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase), surveyed 1910

Fires near this property

62 since 2003

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 62 fires within 5 miles of Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase) between 2003 and 2020, burning about 42 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined41
Arson/incendiarism9
Smoking5
Natural3
Debris and open burning3
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
6 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
25 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
2 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
4 August 2017Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
28 August 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
11 August 2016Smokingunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
9 July 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A

Every fire recorded in St. Lawrence County

Mines and quarries near this property

9 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 9 workings within 5 miles of Village Park Historic District (Boundary Increase): 7 past producers, 2 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Marble, Dimension, Sulfur-Pyrite, Sulfur. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Brick Chapel ProspectSulfur-PyriteOccurrence
Brick Chapel ProspectSulfurOccurrence
Steven's QuarryDolomitePast Producer
Tuppers QuarryGranitePast Producer1885
E. E Stevens QuarryMarble, DimensionPast Producer
Nickerson QuarryMarble, DimensionPast Producer
Unnamed QuarriesStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in St. Lawrence County

Storms near this property

17 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Canton, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1997 and 2024: 13 thunderstorm wind, 2 lightning, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2017Thunderstorm WindCanton$20,000Numerous trees and wires downed by thunderstorm winds.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindCanton$20,000Trees and wires down throughout portions of Canton, including along County Route 21 and a telephone pole down across Pink Schoolhouse road.
July 2013Thunderstorm WindCanton$20,000Numerous trees down in Canton and many locations within St. Lawrence county.
June 2011Thunderstorm WindCanton$20,000Reports of numerous trees down in Canton.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindCanton$10,000Several trees downed by thunderstorm winds.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindCanton$10,000Scattered trees and power lines down across sections of Canton.
July 2011Thunderstorm WindCanton$10,000Several trees and power lines down.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindCanton$5,000Several large tree limbs downed by thunderstorm winds.
July 2005Thunderstorm WindCanton$5,000no account filed
May 2000LightningCanton$5,000no account filed
September 1998Thunderstorm WindCanton$5,000no account filed
August 1997Thunderstorm WindCanton$5,000no account filed
May 2024Thunderstorm WindCanton$2,000Downed tree and limbs into powerlines.
July 2024Thunderstorm WindCanton$2,000A few trees downed by thunderstorm winds on Judson Street.
August 2017LightningCanton$1,000Lightning started a tree fire in Canton.
July 2012HailCanton-Dollar to just under golf ball size hail reported.
October 2001HailCanton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in St. Lawrence County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 83001794 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
St. Lawrence CountyAll 83 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.