BlockBefore
Photograph of Dolge Company Factory Complex
Photograph by Doug Kerr from Albany, NY, United States, CC BY-SA 2.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Dolge Company Factory Complex

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. 13 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1900.

From the record

“Dolge Company Factory Complex, also known as Alfred Dolge and Sons Felt and Sounding Board Factories and Daniel Green Factory Complex, is a national historic district located at Dolgeville in Herkimer County, New York. The district contains 10 contributing buildings and one contributing structure.”

Wikipedia article Dolge Company Factory Complex, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 25 National Register listings published here for Fulton County · listed in 1974 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. S. Main St., Dolgeville, 13329
  • When was it listed? September 1974
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 74001238 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

94 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 94 fires within 5 miles of Dolge Company Factory Complex between 1992 and 2020, burning about 103 acres in total. 7 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined47
Debris and open burning21
Arson/incendiarism11
Natural7
Equipment and vehicle use3
Recreation and ceremony3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 2008Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
5 August 2016Debris and open burningunder an acreFire Department of New YorkN/A
4 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
28 August 2010Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
19 August 2009Naturalunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named
14 August 2006Arson/incendiarism1.1 acresFire Department of New Yorknot named
9 July 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreFire Department of New Yorknot named

Every fire recorded in Fulton County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Dolge Company Factory Complex: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Salisbury MineIronPast Producer

Every working recorded in Fulton County

Maps showing this location

13 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Oppenheim and St. Johnsville Union Society Church5.0 miles2010

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 74001238 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Fulton CountyAll 25 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.