Prattville, Oklahoma
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1912 and the latest in 1990. It stands in the Tulsa census division. It lies in ZIP code area 74063. It stands on Fisher Creek. The Survey maps it on the Sapulpa North quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1912 USGS Hominy quadrangle1:125000
- 1915 USGS Hominy quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1955 USGS Enid quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Sapulpa North quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1958 USGS Enid quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1990 USGS Keystone Lake quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
9 since 2005Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 9 fires within 5 miles of Prattville between 2005 and 2018, burning about 2,581 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Debris and open burning | 2 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14 August 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Pawnee Agency | MULE |
| 27 July 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Osage Agency | BLACK JACK |
| 7 March 2010 | Debris and open burning | 488 acres | Okmulgee Field Office | SEVEN MILE FIRE |
| 16 March 2018 | Arson/incendiarism | 1,500 acres | Osage Agency | S.S. CASINO |
| 13 March 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Pawnee Agency | YALE 2 |
| 3 November 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 162 acres | Okmulgee Field Office | CHAPPEL |
| 25 November 2005 | Debris and open burning | 40 acres | Okmulgee Field Office | ROSKO |
| 11 November 2005 | Natural | 125 acres | Osage Agency | WILLOW SPR |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 18 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Prattville: 11 past producers, 7 producers. 7 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Limestone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Limestone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Limestone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Limestone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Limestone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Arkansas No.1 Dredge and Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Storms near this place
12 since 1999Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Prattville in 12 storm reports between 1999 and 2020: 7 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 tornado. The reports record 2 deaths. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2019 | Flood | Prattville | 2 killed | The Arkansas River near Tulsa rose above its flood stage of 18 feet at 12:30 am CDT on May 22nd. The river crested at 23.41 feet at 3:00 pm CDT on the 29th, resulting in major flooding. This was the second highest crest on record. Severe flooding occurred along the Arkansas River in Tulsa County, with some homes in south Tulsa and Bixby flooded. Riverside Drive in Tulsa was closed in places. A man fell into the river in Tulsa on the 26th, and another waded into the river. Both men drowned. Monetary damage from this flood is unknown. The river remained above flood stage through the end of May, and finally fell below flood stage at 6:30 am CDT on June 1st. |
| July 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Prattville | $30,000 | Strong thunderstorm wind damaged the roof of a large barn at Angus Valley in Sand Springs. |
| April 2020 | Hail | Prattville | $20,000 | Ping pong ball size hail damaged vehicles and the roofs of homes. |
| April 2020 | Hail | Prattville | $20,000 | Golfball size hail damaged vehicles and the roofs of homes. |
| October 2019 | Hail | Prattville | $20,000 | no account filed |
| June 2019 | Flood | Prattville | - | The Arkansas River near Tulsa rose above its flood stage of 18 feet at 12:30 am CDT on May 22nd. The river crested at 23.41 feet at 3:00 pm CDT on the 29th, resulting in major flooding. This was the second highest crest on record. Severe flooding occurred along the Arkansas River in Tulsa County, with some homes in south Tulsa and Bixby flooded. Riverside Drive in Tulsa was closed in places. Monetary damage from this flood is unknown. The river remained above flood stage through the end of May, and finally fell below flood stage at 6:30 am CDT on June 1st. |
| May 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Prattville | - | Thunderstorm wind gusts were estimated to near 60 mph on Highway 97 near W 41st Street in Sand Springs. |
| November 1999 | Tornado (F0) | Prattville | - | Several spotters reported a tornado near highway 97 1 mile east of Pratteville. No damage was reported. |
| October 2019 | Hail | Prattville | - | no account filed |
| May 2017 | Hail | Prattville | - | no account filed |
| April 2017 | Hail | Prattville | - | no account filed |
| May 2001 | Hail | Prattville | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Prattville | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q7238792 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1096918. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.





