From the record
One of 23 National Register listings published here for Okmulgee County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.
One of 23 National Register listings published here for Okmulgee County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Grayson Jail between 1998 and 2020, burning about 12,148 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 25 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 25 |
| Debris and open burning | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Other causes | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2012 | Natural | under an acre | Deep Fork National Wildlife Refuge | COALTON STRIKE |
| 3 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Oklahoma Division of Forestry | not named |
| 1 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 96 acres | Okmulgee Field Office | QUILT BARN |
| 6 August 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Deep Fork National Wildlife Refuge | DEEP FORK OFFICE |
| 3 August 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 67 acres | Okmulgee Field Office | TRACTOR |
| 29 July 2012 | Debris and open burning | 350 acres | Deep Fork National Wildlife Refuge | LOBLOLLY FIRE |
| 20 July 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Okmulgee Field Office | HITCH BALER |
| 12 July 2003 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Deep Fork National Wildlife Refuge | COALTON#2 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Grayson Jail: 5 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unknown Sandstone Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Shale Pit | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Unknown Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Grayson, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 2002 and 2025: 2 hail, 1 tornado, 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| December 2015 | Flood | Grayson | - | Portions of Highway 266 were closed due to flooding. |
| May 2003 | Tornado (F0) | Grayson | - | A F0 tornado touched down 3 miles northeast of Grayson and traveled one mile producing tree damage before lifting just inside the McIntosh county border. |
| May 2025 | Hail | Grayson | - | no account filed |
| March 2008 | Thunderstorm Wind | Grayson | - | no account filed |
| March 2002 | Hail | Grayson | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Hugh Henry House | 7.2 miles | 1983 |
| First Presbyterian Church | 7.6 miles | 2026 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100009891 in Record Group 79. |
| Okmulgee County | All 23 listed properties in this county. |