BlockBefore

Nail's Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.

From the record

“Nail's Station was a stage stand on the old Butterfield Overland Mail route and the Texas Road in Indian Territory. Sometimes called Blue River Station or Nail's Crossing, it was located on the east side of Blue River in what is now Bryan County, Oklahoma.”

Wikipedia article Nail's Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 17 National Register listings published here for Bryan County · listed in 1972 · category: Site.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 2 mi. SW of Kenefick, Keneflick, 74729
  • When was it listed? June 1972
  • Category. site
  • Census division. Durant
  • National Register reference number. 72001059 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

5 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 5 fires within 5 miles of Nail's Station in 2006, burning about 83 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism2
Smoking1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 July 2006Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresChickasaw AgencyFOLSOME
14 February 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined25 acresTishomingo National Wildlife RefugeMAHARDA
6 January 2006Smoking32 acresTalihina AgencyFISH ROAD
15 January 2006Arson/incendiarism22 acresTalihina AgencyROCKCRUSHR
12 January 2006Arson/incendiarismunder an acreTalihina AgencyKENESIC

Every fire recorded in Bryan County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 29 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 29 workings within 5 miles of Nail's Station: 27 past producers, 1 unknown, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unknown Gravel PitClay, Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Bryan County Sand Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Lattimore Industries Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Limestone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Bryan County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Fort McCulloch0.2 miles1971
Caddo Community Building7.4 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 72001059 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Bryan CountyAll 17 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.