BlockBefore
Photograph of Trahern's Station
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Trahern's Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.

From the record

“Trahern's Station was a stage stand on the old Butterfield Overland Mail route in Indian Territory. It was located about 9 miles west of what is now the town of Shadypoint in Le Flore County, Oklahoma.”

Wikipedia article Trahern's Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 22 National Register listings published here for Le Flore County · listed in 1972 · category: Site.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 9 mi. W of Shadypoint, Shadypoint, 74956
  • When was it listed? April 1972
  • Category. site
  • Census division. Panama-Bokoshe
  • National Register reference number. 72001073 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

100 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 100 fires within 5 miles of Trahern's Station between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,120 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 38 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined44
Arson/incendiarism38
Debris and open burning6
Natural4
Recreation and ceremony4
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2002Debris and open burning4.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
5 September 2002Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
9 August 2001Natural1.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
8 August 2005Arson/incendiarism5.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestry20378
30 August 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined7.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
3 August 2006Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestry20419
25 August 1995Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named
22 August 2001Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresOklahoma Division of Forestrynot named

Every fire recorded in Le Flore County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Trahern's Station: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unknown Sandstone PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Le Flore County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Dog Creek School4.4 miles1988
Summerfield School4.9 miles1988
Skullyville County Jail6.1 miles1980

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 72001073 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Le Flore CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.