BlockBefore

Alice Brown House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

From the record

One of 19 National Register listings published here for Seminole County · listed in 1982 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Brown, Alice, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Chestnut St., Sasakwa, 74867
  • When was it listed? March 1982
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Wewoka
  • National Register reference number. 82003701 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

114 since 1996

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 114 fires within 5 miles of Alice Brown House between 1996 and 2020, burning about 5,237 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 29 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning44
Arson/incendiarism29
Missing data/not specified/undetermined19
Equipment and vehicle use7
Power generation/transmission/distribution6
Other causes3
Natural2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 September 2008Debris and open burning3.0 acresWewoka AgencyOUTLAW
14 September 2011Debris and open burning1.1 acresWewoka AgencySTEPPE
10 September 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresChickasaw AgencyMATTHEWS
8 August 2011Power generation/transmission/distribution743 acresChickasaw AgencyBIG TIME FIRE
7 August 2008Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWewoka AgencyFELONY 1
3 August 2008Missing data/not specified/undetermined62 acresWewoka AgencyNO INDICES
25 August 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined150 acresChickasaw AgencyEASTJESSE
20 August 2011Other causes28 acresWewoka AgencyROCKY POINT

Every fire recorded in Seminole County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Alice Brown House: 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Konawa Quarry & MillStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unknown Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Seminole County

Storms near this property

28 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Sasakwa, the town this property stands in, in 28 storm reports between 1993 and 2025: 18 hail, 7 thunderstorm wind, 2 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2003Thunderstorm WindSasakwa$10,000Strong winds damaged a porch, several T.V. antennas, and removed some shingles from a couple of homes. A shop building was also overturned along with several trees damaged. This occurred near the intersection of NS360 and Highway 56.
May 2017Flash FloodSasakwa$5,000Indirect fatality due to blunt force from a washed out 6' tin horn on NS3630 about 1/4 to 1/2 South of EW 1440. Car was traveling at a high rate of speed. It looked like water never went across road. Debris clogged the tin horn.
June 2005Thunderstorm WindSasakwa$3,500Power lines and trees were downed due to the strong wind gust.
October 2019Thunderstorm WindSasakwa$500Outdoor storage shed destroyed...Time estimated from radar.
September 1999Thunderstorm WindSasakwa$500no account filed
November 1998Thunderstorm WindSasakwa$500no account filed
April 2025HailSasakwa-The report was relayed through mPING.
May 2025HailSasakwa-The report was relayed through mPING.
March 2024HailSasakwa-MPing report. Based on radar evidence, hailfall likely occurred prior (1630-1640 LST) to report time.
September 2023HailSasakwa-Relayed image.
May 2015Tornado (EF1)Sasakwa-The tornado moved into Seminole County from Pontotoc County and continued moving northeast toward Sasakwa. Significant tree damage occurred along the path.
April 1998Flash FloodSasakwa-Flash flooding washed out a bridge on Highway 56 and a car was subsequently washed off the road. One person was rescued.
September 2023HailSasakwa-no account filed
March 2017HailSasakwa-no account filed
May 2009HailSasakwa-no account filed
April 2005HailSasakwa-no account filed
July 2004Thunderstorm WindSasakwa-no account filed
March 2003HailSasakwa-no account filed
May 2002HailSasakwa-no account filed
May 2001HailSasakwa-no account filed
May 2001HailSasakwa-no account filed
July 2000Thunderstorm WindSasakwa-no account filed
April 1999HailSasakwa-no account filed
April 1999HailSasakwa-no account filed
May 1996HailSasakwa-no account filed
April 1996HailSasakwa-no account filed
November 1996HailSasakwa-no account filed
April 1993HailSasakwa-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Seminole County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 82003701 in Record Group 79.
Seminole CountyAll 19 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.