BlockBefore
Photograph of Provine Service Station
Photograph by Batterup55, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Provine Service Station

Built in 1929 (bungalow). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.

From the record

“The Provine Service Station is a historic filling station on U.S. Located a half-mile south of Hydro, Oklahoma and operated by Lucille Hamons from 1941 until her death on August 18, 2000, the site was added to the US National Register of Historic Places in 1997.”

Wikipedia article Provine Service Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 11 National Register listings published here for Caddo County · listed in 1997 · category: Building · built in 1929, bungalow.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 0.5 mi. E of jct. of I-40 and OK 58, Hydro, 73048
  • When was it listed? July 1997
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Route 66 in Oklahoma MPS; Route 66 in Oklahoma MPS
  • Census division. Hydro
  • When was it built? 1929
  • Architectural style. bungalow, American Craftsman
  • National Register reference number. 97000803 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

10 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Provine Service Station between 1998 and 2020, burning about 678 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning3
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Equipment and vehicle use1
Natural1
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 August 2005Natural9.0 acresConcho Field OfficeAIRPORT RD
2 August 2006Debris and open burning1.0 acresConcho Field OfficeBIKE
11 August 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined30 acresConcho Field OfficeDEAD WOMAN
4 July 2005Fireworks1.0 acresConcho Field OfficeCADDO
9 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined340 acresAnadarko AgencyWEST COUNTY LINE
15 June 2020Equipment and vehicle use176 acresOklahoma Division of ForestryCEDAR CANYON FIRE
2 May 2008Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreConcho Field OfficeWILBURN
30 March 2009Debris and open burning60 acresConcho Field OfficeTIN STAR

Every fire recorded in Caddo County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Provine Service Station: 4 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Dolomite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unknown Dolomite PitDolomitePast Producer
Unknown Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unknown Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unknown Sand and Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Caddo County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 97000803 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Caddo CountyAll 11 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.