BlockBefore
Photograph of Hobson-Gehlen General Merchandise Store
Photograph by Ian Poellet, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Hobson-Gehlen General Merchandise Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2013.

From the record

One of 120 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2013 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Hobson--Gehlen General Merchandise Store - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 189 N. 2nd Ave., Stayton, 97383
  • When was it listed? May 2013
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Downtown Area of Stayton MPS
  • Census division. Stayton
  • National Register reference number. 13000311 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

40 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 40 fires within 5 miles of Hobson-Gehlen General Merchandise Store between 1992 and 2020, burning about 57 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning19
Equipment and vehicle use9
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Recreation and ceremony2
Arson/incendiarism2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2017Equipment and vehicle use7.2 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersFIR GROVE FRIE
8 September 2004Debris and open burningunder an acreSantiam UnitBOOS POND
7 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersFIR GROVE
3 September 2020Debris and open burning3.2 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersFERN RIDGE
3 September 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreSantiam UnitMEHAMA FIR
25 September 2010Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSantiam UnitSPENNER RD
25 September 2009Debris and open burning1.0 acresSantiam UnitTRIUMPH ROAD #2
23 September 2014Debris and open burningunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersSPENNER ROAD PILES

Every fire recorded in Marion County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 19 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 19 workings within 5 miles of Hobson-Gehlen General Merchandise Store: 10 past producers, 6 producers, 3 occurrences. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Hink FarmPlatinumOccurrence
Iron OccurrenceIron, ManganeseOccurrence
Sublimity Weathered GravelClayOccurrence
Stayton QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Hagel RockStonePast Producer
QuarryStonePast Producer
QuarryStonePast Producer
Stayton QuarryStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Marion County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Deidrich Buildingunder 500 feet2006
Beauchamp Building0.1 miles2019
Charles and Martha Brown House0.1 miles2002

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 13000311 in Record Group 79.
Marion CountyAll 120 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.