BlockBefore
Photograph of Crawfordsville Bridge
Photograph by Sword Fern, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Crawfordsville Bridge

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.

From the record

“The Crawfordsville Bridge spans the Calapooia River adjacent to Oregon Route 228 near the community of Crawfordsville in Linn County, Oregon, United States.”

Wikipedia article Crawfordsville Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 73 National Register listings published here for Linn County · listed in 1979 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SR 228, Crawfordsville
  • When was it listed? November 1979
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Oregon Covered Bridges TR
  • Census division. Brownsville
  • National Register reference number. 79002115 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

113 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 113 fires within 5 miles of Crawfordsville Bridge between 1992 and 2020, burning about 52 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use34
Debris and open burning28
Recreation and ceremony11
Arson/incendiarism11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Power generation/transmission/distribution6
Natural4
Smoking4
Fireworks4
Other causes2
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Firearms and explosives use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2009Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSweet Home Unit - ODFFERNRIDGE # 2
9 September 2007Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreSweet Home Unit - ODFHWY 228 MP 13.4
8 September 2004Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSweet Home Unit - ODFCRAWFORDSVILLE DRIVE # 1
3 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersHWY 228
26 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersBRUSH CREEK 631
26 September 2012Debris and open burningunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersHOLLEY BRIDGE FIRE
25 September 2011Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreSweet Home Unit - ODFBRUSH CREEK 200
25 September 2006Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSweet Home Unit - ODFHWY 228 MP 18 # 2

Every fire recorded in Linn County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 12 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 12 workings within 5 miles of Crawfordsville Bridge: 7 past producers, 5 producers. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Abc Crushing Pit and PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Abc Crushing Pit and PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Lower PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Lower QuarryStonePast Producer
NorthernStonePast Producer
Northern PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Northern RiprapStonePast Producer
Northern Riprap PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
QuarryStonePast Producer
Unnamed PitStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Linn County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Gottlieb and Della Milde Barn3.1 miles1999
Hugh Fields House4.4 miles1989
Hugh Leeper Brown Barn5.1 miles1979
John and Amelia Brown Farmhouse5.5 miles1978
Jacob and Maranda K. Wigle Farmstead5.8 miles1992
George C. Cooley House6.3 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 79002115 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Linn CountyAll 73 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.