BlockBefore
Photograph of St. Helens Downtown Historic District
Photograph by Cacophony, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

St. Helens Downtown Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

From the record

One of 11 National Register listings published here for Columbia County · listed in 1984 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

Fires near this property

94 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 94 fires within 5 miles of St. Helens Downtown Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 77 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Debris and open burning17
Equipment and vehicle use14
Smoking12
Recreation and ceremony10
Misuse of fire by a minor9
Arson/incendiarism6
Natural3
Fireworks3
Other causes2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1999Smokingunder an acreColumbia City UnitSMITH ROAD #1
7 September 2020Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersPITTSBURG/GENSMAN ROADS
3 September 2006Misuse of fire by a minor5.0 acresColumbia City UnitPITTSBURG RD.
3 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreColumbia City UnitHANKEY ROAD #1
28 September 2014Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.3 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters18 HUB
27 September 2015Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersOLD PORTLAND/KASTER#3
27 September 2010Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreColumbia City UnitSYKES ROAD #2
25 September 2019Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreOregon Department of Forestry Salem HeadquartersDART CREEK ROAD #1

Every fire recorded in Columbia County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 28 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 28 workings within 5 miles of St. Helens Downtown Historic District: 19 past producers, 6 producers, 2 occurrences, 1 prospect. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Aluminum. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Columbia County Bauxite DepositsAluminum, Iron, Titanium, Silica, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Water, FreeProspect1944
Maple Hill IronIronOccurrence
Marshall FarmAluminum, IronOccurrence
B and S Rock QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Columbia CountyStonePast Producer
Columbia CountyStonePast Producer
Columbia CountyStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Dwight IrbyStonePast Producer
Dwight IrbyStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Longview FiberStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Columbia County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Cox-Williams House0.1 miles1982
Dr. Charles G. and Lucinda McBride Caples Farmstead1.9 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 84000137 in Record Group 79.
Columbia CountyAll 11 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.