From the record
One of 120 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 1987 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.
One of 120 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 1987 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Silverton Commercial Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 86 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 26 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 11 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Other causes | 5 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Santiam Unit | DAVIS CREEK |
| 7 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Santiam Unit | 213 GRASS |
| 6 September 2003 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Santiam Unit | VICTOR BARREL |
| 6 September 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Santiam Unit | VICTOR POINT RD. #1. |
| 4 September 2014 | Other causes | 1.0 acres | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | LAURIE LANE |
| 3 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Santiam Unit | VICTOR POINT #2 |
| 3 September 1994 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Molalla Unit | ENDRESON |
| 26 September 2016 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.5 acres | Oregon Department of Forestry Salem Headquarters | DAVIS CREEK GRASS |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 19 workings within 5 miles of Silverton Commercial Historic District: 8 past producers, 8 producers, 3 occurrences. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clay Occurrence #1 | Clay | Occurrence | ||
| Fall Creek Ranch Deposit | Clay | Occurrence | ||
| Victor Point Locality No. 19 | Clay | Occurrence | ||
| Abiqua Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Abiqua Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Pembroke/Silverton Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Pembroke/Silverton Pit & Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Davis Creek | Stone | Past Producer | ||
| Davis Creek Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Hickman Pit | Stone | Past Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Silverton, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 1998: 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| October 1998 | Tornado (F0) | Silverton | - | A Silverton Police Officer reported seeing a tornado touch down near Silverton between 330 and 345 PM. No damages or injuries were reported. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | June D. Drake House | under 500 feet | 2011 |
![]() | Calvary Lutheran Church & Parsonage | 0.1 miles | 1985 |
![]() | Louise Adams House | 0.2 miles | 2015 |
![]() | Joseph Henry Moser Barn | 0.2 miles | 2013 |
![]() | Magnus and Emma Ek House | 0.3 miles | 2013 |
![]() | Murton E. and Lillian DeGuire House | 0.5 miles | 2011 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 87000878 in Record Group 79. |
| Marion County | All 120 listed properties in this county. |