BlockBefore
Photograph of Ontario Depot
Photograph by Ron Reiring, CC BY 2.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Oregon Short Line Railroad Depot

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1999.

From the record

“The Ontario station is a former train station located in Ontario, Oregon, United States that is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Oregon Short Line Railroad Depot. It was constructed in 1907 by the Union Pacific Railroad (UP) for its subsidiary, the Oregon Short Line Railroad (OSL), to replace an 1885 OSL depot that had been located just to the south and had been a simple wood-frame structure.”

Wikipedia article Ontario station (Oregon), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 19 National Register listings published here for Malheur County · listed in 1999 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 300 Depot Lane, Ontario, 97914
  • When was it listed? August 1999
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Ontario
  • Architectural style. Richardsonian Romanesque
  • National Register reference number. 99000950 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

4 since 2000

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 4 fires within 5 miles of Oregon Short Line Railroad Depot between 2000 and 2019, burning about 235 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use2
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Debris and open burning1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
4 August 2006Equipment and vehicle use39 acresBoise DistrictPLAYDOH
21 July 2000Debris and open burning184 acresBoise DistrictHOT TRASH
6 June 2001Equipment and vehicle use9.0 acresBoise DistrictMTRCYCLEPK
13 October 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.9 acresVale DistrictTATER

Every fire recorded in Malheur County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 50 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 50 workings within 5 miles of Oregon Short Line Railroad Depot: 24 past producers, 20 producers, 4 prospects, 2 occurrences. 20 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Geothermal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Jensen Clay MineBrick Clay, KaolinPast ProducerIllite
Malheur Butte SpringsGeothermalOccurrence
PayetteClayOccurrence
QuarryStonePast Producer
QuarryStonePast Producer
Unnamed SiteStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Unnamed SiteStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Allen SiteSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Allen SiteSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Canyon HillsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Malheur County

Storms near this property

13 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ontario, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1997 and 2023: 5 thunderstorm wind, 2 flash flood, 2 heavy rain, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2023Heavy RainOntario-The mesonet station RTFO3 16 miles east of Riversside measured 0.73 inches of heavy rain.
March 2023Heavy RainOntario-The ASOS station at the Ontario airport measured 0.75 inches of heavy rain.
June 2017Thunderstorm WindOntario-Social Media reported part of a hotel roof was torn off.
April 2017FloodOntario-Flooding continued from the previous month of March along the Snake River in eastern Malheur County from Nyssa to Ontario.
August 2010Flash FloodOntario-Malheur County Sheriff's Office reported that most streets in downtown Ontario were flooded.
July 2003Flash FloodOntario-Significant street flooding with many streets closed and rerouted...two foot deep mud slide near Foothill Dr.
July 2002Thunderstorm WindOntario-A local street was closed in Ontario when thunderstorm winds blew apart a shed and deposited the debris onto the roadway. Construction materials from a building site were also blown onto the road, blocking traffic.
August 2007Thunderstorm WindOntario-no account filed
August 2006Thunderstorm WindOntario-no account filed
May 2003HailOntario-no account filed
July 1997Thunderstorm WindOntario-no account filed
June 1997Tornado (F0)Ontario-no account filed
April 1997Funnel CloudOntario-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Malheur County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
James Rowley and Mary J. Blackaby House0.3 miles2001

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 99000950 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Malheur CountyAll 19 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.