Linton Mills, Ohio
16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1909 and the latest in 1994. It stands in Linton Township. It lies in ZIP code area 43749. It lies near Roahrig Hill. The Survey maps it on the Plainfield quadrangle.
Then and now
1909 to 1994The same ground, surveyed 85 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.


Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 16 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1909 USGS Cambridge quadrangle1:62500
- 1912 USGS Cambridge quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1951 USGS Canton quadrangle1:250000
- 1953 USGS Canton quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Canton quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1962 USGS Canton quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1962 USGS Plainfield quadrangle1:24000, 4 printings
- 1993 USGS Plainfield quadrangle1:24000
- 1994 USGS Plainfield quadrangle1:24000
In the county-history sources
18,159 words on this townshipHistorical Collections of Coshocton County, Ohio :, published 1876; Historical of Coshocton County Ohio, published 1876; History of Coshocton County, Ohio: Its Past and Present, 1740-1881. Containing a Comprehensive History of Ohio; a Complete History of Coshocton County ... a History of Its Soldiers in the Late War ... Biographies and Histories of Pioneer Families, Etc, published 1881; History of Coshocton County, Ohio;, published 1881 has no passage naming this settlement, which was common for smaller places. Its township is covered in full.
The chapter on Linton Township covers the township.
Read the chapter on Linton Township - 18,159 words.
Fires near this place
19 since 2013Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 19 fires within 5 miles of Linton Mills between 2013 and 2020, burning about 190 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4 September 2017 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 9248 |
| 26 August 2017 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 8905 |
| 3 June 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 8366 |
| 13 May 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 10146 |
| 12 May 2018 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 10 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 10145 |
| 21 April 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 11566 |
| 15 April 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 7874 |
| 15 April 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 7875 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Specimens collected near this place
12 of 218 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. Museums hold 218 specimens collected within 10 miles of Linton Mills between 1923 and 1973: 165 Animalia, 49 Plantae, 3 Fungi, 1 Unrecorded. 12 distinct Species records are shown. Collected by Buker, W.E., Cavender, T. M. (Ted M.), Conan J. Taylor and others. Each is a physical object with a catalogue number, and each entry opens the museum's record. This is what was collected and kept, not a survey of what lives here - nothing can be concluded from a species being absent.
| Image | Species | Year | Collected by | Where, as recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Coelioxys sayi Robertson, 1897 | 1923 | not recorded | |
| Ichneumonidae | 1923 | not recorded | ||
![]() | Nematus tibialis Newman, 1837 | 1923 | not recorded | |
![]() | Bombus griseocollis (De Geer, 1773) | 1924 | not recorded | |
![]() | Holopyga ventralis | 1924 | not recorded | |
| Thelia bimaculata Fabricius | 1924 | W.V. Balduf | ||
| Tiphia J.C.Fabricius, 1775 | 1924 | not recorded | ||
| Ascogaster quadridentata Wesmael, 1835 | 1925 | not recorded | ||
| Braconidae | 1925 | not recorded | ||
| Pteromalidae | 1928 | W.V. Balduf | ||
| unnamed | 1929 | not recorded | ||
| Myzinum maculatum (Fabricius, 1793) | 1929 | not recorded |
All 218 specimens within 10 miles, at the Global Biodiversity Information Facility.
Storms near this place
1 since 2011Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Linton Mills in 1 storm report in 2011: 1 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2011 | Flood | Linton Mills | $75,000 | Emergency management reported flooding countywide as most creeks out of their banks and flooding roadways. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stringtown (historical) | 1.1 miles | 16 | |
| Plainfield | 2.8 miles | 16 | |
| Bacon | 5.4 miles | 14 | |
| Maysville | 5.8 miles | 14 | |
| Low Gap | 5.9 miles | 16 | |
| Flat Iron Corner | 6.5 miles | 16 | |
| Isleta | 6.7 miles | 16 | |
| Shady Bend | 7.1 miles | 16 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1065004. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Specimens. Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF), https://www.gbif.org/. Only records licensed CC0 or CC BY are used. Records licensed CC BY-NC are excluded because this site carries advertising. Images are checked individually and any whose licence is non-commercial, no-derivatives or unreadable is refused.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.












