From the record
One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 2018 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018. 19 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1889.
One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 2018 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 49 fires within 5 miles of Manchaug Village Historic District between 2007 and 2020, burning about 34 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 14 |
| Smoking | 10 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 9 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 4 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2015 | Smoking | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 6 September 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 5 September 2015 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 19 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 9 August 2015 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 4 August 2020 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 31 August 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
| 25 July 2016 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Massachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Control | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 19 workings within 5 miles of Manchaug Village Historic District: 16 past producers, 2 producers, 1 unknown. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Armour Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Barnett Road Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Boston Road Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| De Gaetano Brothers Inc | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Direnzo Brothers Sand and Gravel | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Douglas Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Gilbon Mountain Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Guiou Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| Hutnak Construction Co | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Johnson Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Waters Farm | 2.0 miles | 1985 |
![]() | Hayward Mill | 2.3 miles | 1991 |
![]() | E. N. Jenckes Store | 2.4 miles | 1988 |
![]() | Old Douglas Center Historic District | 2.4 miles | 2001 |
![]() | West Sutton Historic District | 3.2 miles | 2001 |
![]() | N. Williams House | 3.8 miles | 1983 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100002026 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Worcester County | All 686 listed properties in this county. |