BlockBefore
Photograph of John and Ruth Rose House
Photograph by Magicpiano, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

John and Ruth Rose House

Built in 1743 (Georgian architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2018. 21 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 174 National Register listings published here for Hampden County · listed in 2018 · category: Building · built in 1743, Georgian architecture.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Listed as. Rose, John and Ruth, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 944 Main Rd., Granville
  • When was it listed? August 2018
  • Category. building
  • When was it built? 1743
  • Architectural style. Georgian architecture
  • National Register reference number. 100002772 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Then and now

1887 to 1997

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 110 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering John and Ruth Rose House, surveyed 1997
Topographic sheet covering John and Ruth Rose House, surveyed 1887

Fires near this property

9 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 9 fires within 5 miles of John and Ruth Rose House between 2015 and 2020, burning about 38 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use5
Missing data/not specified/undetermined2
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
19 June 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreConnecticut Division of ForestryGRANVILLE ROAD/ RT 189
3 April 2015Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
23 April 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresConnecticut Division of ForestryFULLER ROAD HARTLAND CT
22 April 2016Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
17 April 2016Recreation and ceremony32 acresConnecticut Division of ForestryTUNXIS STATE FOREST, 10 WILDERNESS ROAD
9 March 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
9 March 2016Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
22 February 2016Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Hampden County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of John and Ruth Rose House: 3 producers, 1 past producer, 1 occurrence. 3 still produce. What was taken out: Talc-Soapstone, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Kyanite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Westfield DepositKyaniteOccurrence
Granville PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Soapstone QuarryTalc-SoapstoneProducerMetamorphic
Soapstone QuarryTalc-SoapstonePast Producer
Southwick Pit and MillSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Hampden County

Maps showing this location

21 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100002772 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Hampden CountyAll 174 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.