BlockBefore

Ohio & Erie Canal Southern Descent Historic District (Boundary Increase)

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2022. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.

From the record

One of 41 National Register listings published here for Scioto County · listed in 2022 · category: District.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Old River Rd. at Slab Run, Portsmouth
  • When was it listed? September 2022
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 100008049 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Then and now

1915 to 1991

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 76 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Ohio & Erie Canal Southern Descent Historic District (Boundary Increase), surveyed 1991
Topographic sheet covering Ohio & Erie Canal Southern Descent Historic District (Boundary Increase), surveyed 1915

Fires near this property

131 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 131 fires within 5 miles of Ohio & Erie Canal Southern Descent Historic District (Boundary Increase) between 1997 and 2020, burning about 4,372 acres in total. None started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning67
Missing data/not specified/undetermined36
Arson/incendiarism20
Recreation and ceremony6
Equipment and vehicle use1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 September 2017Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources9147
20 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresOhio Department of Natural ResourcesPORTSMOUTH
14 September 2012Debris and open burning2.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestrySHEEP HOLL
1 August 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
5 July 2002Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresKentucky Division of Forestrynot named
28 June 2012Debris and open burning1.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestryCHURCH STR
7 May 2017Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources8166
7 May 2015Debris and open burning3.0 acresKentucky Division of ForestryMORTON HILL

Every fire recorded in Scioto County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Ohio & Erie Canal Southern Descent Historic District (Boundary Increase): 1 plant, 1 prospect, 1 producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Own Crews QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Portsmouth WorksClayPlant
South Shore Clay BedClayProspect

Every working recorded in Scioto County

Newspapers printed here

1 paper

1 paper published in this town, digitised by the Library of Congress and free to read. Every page is searchable, so a name or a street can be looked for directly in what the town printed about itself at the time.

NewspaperPublished
The Portsmouth Inquirer1849 to 1855

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Philip Moore Stone House1.2 miles1975
Boneyfiddle Commercial Disrict1.5 miles1979
Portsmouth Foundry and Machine Works1.5 miles1987
Dole-Darrell House1.6 miles1987
Judge William V. Peck House1.6 miles1979
Cunningham-Maier House1.7 miles1987

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100008049 in Record Group 79.
Scioto CountyAll 41 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.