From the record
One of 6 National Register listings published here for Pike County · listed in 1974 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1915.
One of 6 National Register listings published here for Pike County · listed in 1974 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 59 fires within 5 miles of Piketon Historic District between 2004 and 2020, burning about 248 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 30 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 9 August 2019 | Smoking | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15226 |
| 9 August 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15221 |
| 8 July 2019 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15213 |
| 1 July 2019 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15212 |
| 8 June 2020 | Railroad operations and maintenance | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15742 |
| 9 April 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | 2.0 acres | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 7 April 2020 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Ohio Department of Natural Resources | 15635 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Piketon Historic District: 3 past producers, 2 producers, 2 plants. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A & S Plant A-7 & Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Plant | ||
| A & S Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Cutlip Plant | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary | |
| Cutlip Plant Dredge & Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Gregory Materials Company | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Seal Builders S & G Pit & Mill | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Plant | ||
| Seal Builders Sand and Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | Sedimentary |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Vanmeter Stone House and Outbuildings | 2.0 miles | 1975 |
![]() | Friendly Grove | 2.2 miles | 1970 |
| Jones-Cutler House | 2.7 miles | 1976 | |
| Waverly Canal Historic District | 4.3 miles | 1978 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 74001598 in Record Group 79. |
| Pike County | All 6 listed properties in this county. |