BlockBefore
Photograph of Maple-Dell
Photograph by Nyttend, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Maple-Dell

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990. 9 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1909.

From the record

One of 74 National Register listings published here for Mahoning County · listed in 1990 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 14737 Garfield Rd., Salem
  • When was it listed? December 1990
  • Category. building
  • National Register reference number. 90001821 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Then and now

1909 to 1994

The ground this property stands on, surveyed 85 years apart. Drag the handle to wipe between them. Both sheets are United States Geological Survey originals; neither has been altered.

Topographic sheet covering Maple-Dell, surveyed 1994
Topographic sheet covering Maple-Dell, surveyed 1909

Fires near this property

6 since 2005

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of Maple-Dell between 2005 and 2020, burning about 5 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning4
Smoking1
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 August 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15253
9 May 2019Smokingunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15194
9 March 2020Debris and open burning1.5 acresOhio Department of Natural Resources15463
8 March 2020Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resources15510
31 March 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
21 March 2009Debris and open burningunder an acreOhio Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Mahoning County

Maps showing this location

9 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Damascus Grade School1.6 miles1989
Frank Sebring House5.1 miles1989

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90001821 in Record Group 79.
Mahoning CountyAll 74 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.