BlockBefore
Photograph of Elm Hill Farm Historic District
Photograph by John Phelan, CC BY 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Elm Hill Farm Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991. 21 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1887.

From the record

One of 686 National Register listings published here for Worcester County · listed in 1991 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • Address. E Main St. E of jct. with Brookfield Rd., Brookfield
  • When was it listed? May 1991
  • Category. district
  • National Register reference number. 91000600 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

38 since 2015

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 38 fires within 5 miles of Elm Hill Farm Historic District between 2015 and 2020, burning about 21 acres in total. None started naturally. 3 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Recreation and ceremony12
Debris and open burning11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined3
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Smoking3
Arson/incendiarism3
Equipment and vehicle use2
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 June 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
24 June 2016Smokingunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
22 June 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
17 June 2020Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
9 May 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
4 May 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
3 May 2015Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named
26 May 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreMassachusetts Bureau of Forest Fire Controlnot named

Every fire recorded in Worcester County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Elm Hill Farm Historic District: 2 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
E W Sykes PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Highway PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Lyford Road PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Worcester County

Maps showing this location

21 surveys

United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91000600 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Worcester CountyAll 686 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.