Bethany, South Carolina
16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1892 and the latest in 1988. It stands in the McCormick census division. It lies in ZIP code area 29845. It stands on Church Branch. The Survey maps it on the Parksville quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
Topographic sheets covering this place
9 surveys from 16 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1892 USGS Mc Cormick quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1912 USGS Mc Cormick quadrangle1:125000
- 1953 USGS Athens quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Athens quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Athens quadrangle1:250000
- 1963 USGS Athens quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Parksville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1980 USGS Clark Hill Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1988 USGS Athens quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
87 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 87 fires within 5 miles of Bethany (historical) between 1992 and 2019, burning about 1,034 acres in total. 15 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29 |
| Debris and open burning | 22 |
| Natural | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Smoking | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
| Firearms and explosives use | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 19 acres | Francis Marion & Sumter National Forests | BEAVER |
| 21 September 2019 | Smoking | 3.5 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.4 acres | Francis Marion & Sumter National Forests | BEAVER 2 |
| 10 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 13 acres | Francis Marion & Sumter National Forests | not named |
| 1 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 20 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whitetown | 3.2 miles | 16 | |
| Parks Mill | 4.0 miles | 16 | |
| Liberty Hill | 4.9 miles | 16 | |
| Whites Cross Roads (historical) | 5.1 miles | 16 | |
| Parksville | 5.7 miles | 16 | |
| Plum Branch | 5.8 miles | 16 | |
| Dornville (historical) | 6.8 miles | 16 | |
| Modoc | 8.5 miles | 24 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1241317. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.








