Brannons Store, South Carolina
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1907 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Boiling Springs census division. It lies in ZIP code area 29349. The Survey maps it on the Inman quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1907 USGS Saluda quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1955 USGS Knoxville quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Knoxville quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1960 USGS Knoxville quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1961 USGS Inman quadrangle1:62500
- 1964 USGS Knoxville quadrangle1:250000
- 1983 USGS Inman quadrangle1:24000
- 1986 USGS Hendersonville quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
156 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 156 fires within 5 miles of Brannons Store (historical) between 1992 and 2018, burning about 413 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 68 |
| Debris and open burning | 45 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 10 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 3 |
| Smoking | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 2015 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 20 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 25 September 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2016 | Debris and open burning | 1.5 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 September 2016 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1.2 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 2018 | Natural | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 2007 | Smoking | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Brannons Store (historical): 2 producers, 2 prospects, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Iron, Gold, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mcbee Placer | Gold | Past Producer | 1844 | |
| Mcmillan Mine | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | Sedimentary | |
| Avery Prospect | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Inman Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | Metamorphic | |
| Inman Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Senia Prospect | Iron | Prospect |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| River Oak Ranchettes | 0.8 miles | 15 | |
| River Oaks | 1.7 miles | 15 | |
| Luray Hills | 2.0 miles | 13 | |
| Clark Estates | 2.1 miles | 15 | |
| Northwood | 2.1 miles | 13 | |
| Brown Arrow | 2.3 miles | 15 | |
| Twin Brooks | 2.5 miles | 15 | |
| Northgate | 2.7 miles | 13 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Brannons Store (historical) | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q22073082 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1248128. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.







