Brogdon, South Carolina
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1946 and the latest in 1990. It stands in the Sumter Southeast census division. It lies in ZIP code area 29153. It stands on Boots Branch. The Survey maps it on the Brogdon quadrangle.
On record in Brogdon
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register within a mile 1 record
The National Register names another town for these. They stand within one mile of this settlement's coordinate.
J. Clinton Brogdon Houselisted 1993 · 0.2 miles away
Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1946 USGS Sumter quadrangle1:62500
- 1954 USGS Augusta quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Augusta quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Sumter quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Augusta quadrangle1:250000
- 1961 USGS Augusta quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1962 USGS Augusta quadrangle1:250000
- 1983 USGS Brogdon quadrangle1:24000
- 1986 USGS Sumter quadrangle1:100000
- 1990 USGS Sumter quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
347 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 347 fires within 5 miles of Brogdon between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,590 acres in total. 5 started naturally. 80 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 131 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 110 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 80 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 12 |
| Natural | 5 |
| Smoking | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 4 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 2019 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 22 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
6 since 2009Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Brogdon in 6 storm reports between 2009 and 2024: 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2024 | Flash Flood | Brogdon | - | SCDOT website reported all lanes of Britton Brogdon Road between Crossline Pipe and Boots Branch Road were closed in both directions due to flooding. Time estimated. |
| August 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Brogdon | - | Dispatchers reported a tree down near Britton Road and Boots Branch Road and another on Camp Branch Road. |
| March 2021 | Thunderstorm Wind | Brogdon | - | SCHP reported trees down along 12 Bridges Rd. Time estimated. |
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Brogdon | - | SCDOT office in Sumter reported a tree down on Plowden Mill Rd. Exact location unknown. Time estimated. |
| June 2011 | Hail | Brogdon | - | Public reported 1 inch hail. |
| June 2009 | Hail | Brogdon | - | Public reported hail covering the ground at Brogdon Farms with largest hail stones the size of half dollars. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Britton | 3.0 miles | 14 | |
| Brunsons Store | 4.8 miles | 17 | |
| Tindal | 5.0 miles | 14 | |
| Lakewood | 5.2 miles | 14 | |
| Forest Heights | 5.5 miles | 16 | |
| Stokes | 5.6 miles | 14 | |
| Concord Estates | 5.7 miles | 16 | |
| Leawood | 5.9 miles | 16 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1253467. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.









