Powers Shop, South Carolina
8 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1954 and the latest in 1991. It stands in the Gray Court census division. It lies in ZIP code area 29645. The Survey maps it on the Fountain Inn quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
Topographic sheets covering this place
6 surveys from 8 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1954 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Fountain Inn quadrangle1:62500
- 1958 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:250000
- 1983 USGS Fountain Inn quadrangle1:24000
- 1984 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:100000
- 1991 USGS Greenville quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
130 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 130 fires within 5 miles of Powers Shop (historical) between 1992 and 2019, burning about 337 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 10 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 50 |
| Debris and open burning | 42 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 10 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 8 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 3 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 2016 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2007 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 1.3 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.6 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | South Carolina Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
4 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Powers Shop (historical): 2 producers, 2 unknowns. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Granite, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Gold, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fountain Inn Prospect | Gold | Unknown | Vein | |
| Gray Court #246 Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Entrekin Quarry | Granite, Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | 1908 | |
| Gray Court Quarry | Granite, Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | Metamorphosed Igneous Intrusion |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Owings | 1.1 miles | 8 | |
| Gray Court | 3.0 miles | 8 | |
| Green Pond | 3.1 miles | 8 | |
| Youngs | 4.2 miles | 8 | |
| Edens (historical) | 4.9 miles | 8 | |
| Cooks Crossroads | 5.8 miles | 8 | |
| Barksdale | 6.0 miles | 8 | |
| Martin Crossroads | 6.4 miles | 8 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1234943. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.





