BlockBefore

Holly Springs School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2019.

From the record

One of 97 National Register listings published here for Greenville County · listed in 2019 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 130 Holly Springs Rd., Belton, 29627
  • When was it listed? October 2019
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. African-American Primary and Secondary School Buildings MPS
  • Census division. Woodville
  • National Register reference number. 100004494 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

147 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 147 fires within 5 miles of Holly Springs School between 1992 and 2019, burning about 362 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 15 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined66
Debris and open burning39
Arson/incendiarism15
Equipment and vehicle use13
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Recreation and ceremony3
Smoking3
Natural1
Fireworks1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2000Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
3 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
25 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
23 September 2005Arson/incendiarismunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 2013Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 1998Debris and open burning6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 2002Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Greenville County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Holly Springs School: 4 past producers, 3 prospects, 2 unknowns, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Mica, Kyanite, Gold. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Desota ProspectGoldProspect
Beam Sillimanite ProspectKyaniteProspect
Beam Sillimanite ProspectKyaniteUnknownMetamorphic
Cooper Sand Co. Piedmont MineSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Delzer DredgeSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Fred Cox MineMicaPast Producer
Joe Darby DepositMicaOccurrence
Patton MineMicaPast Producer
Pearson and Scott Sillimanite PrsptKyaniteProspect
Piedmont MineSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknownSedimentary

Every working recorded in Greenville County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hopkins Farm7.4 miles2007

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100004494 in Record Group 79.
Greenville CountyAll 97 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.