BlockBefore
Photograph of Brick House Ruins
Photograph by Thomas T. Waterman, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Brick House Ruin

A National Historic Landmark. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.

From the record

“The Paul Hamilton House, commonly referred to as the Brick House Ruins, is the ruin of a 1725 plantation house on Edisto Island, South Carolina, that burned in 1929. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1970 for the unusual architecture of the surviving walls, which is partly based on French Huguenot architecture of the period.”

Wikipedia article Brick House Ruins, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 227 National Register listings published here for Charleston County · listed in 1970 · category: Structure · a National Historic Landmark.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • National Historic Landmark. The highest federal designation, held by about 2,600 places in the country against roughly 100,000 Register listings.
  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S of Edisto Island, Edisto Island, 29438
  • When was it listed? April 1970
  • Category. structure
  • Census division. Edisto Island
  • National Register reference number. 70000580 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

91 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 91 fires within 5 miles of Brick House Ruin between 1992 and 2018, burning about 907 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 29 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning29
Arson/incendiarism29
Missing data/not specified/undetermined26
Equipment and vehicle use3
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1998Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2013Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 1999Natural5.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2006Arson/incendiarism12 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
9 July 2000Debris and open burning1.5 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
26 July 2010Naturalunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
21 July 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined20 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Charleston County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Windsor Plantation1.1 miles1974
Lawton-Seabrook Cemetery1.9 miles2017
Frogmore2.0 miles1987
Edisto Island Presbyterian Church2.3 miles1971
Presbyterian Manse2.5 miles1971
William Seabrook House2.6 miles1971

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 70000580 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Charleston CountyAll 227 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.