BlockBefore
Photograph of Prince Frederick's Chapel Ruins
Photograph by Efy96001, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Prince Frederick's Chapel Ruins

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.

From the record

One of 38 National Register listings published here for Georgetown County · listed in 1974 · category: Site.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 site as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SE of Plantersville on Rte. 52, Plantersville, 29440
  • When was it listed? August 1974
  • Category. site
  • Census division. Plantersville
  • National Register reference number. 74001858 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

210 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 210 fires within 5 miles of Prince Frederick's Chapel Ruins between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,128 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 48 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined82
Debris and open burning67
Arson/incendiarism48
Equipment and vehicle use6
Natural4
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Fireworks1
Railroad operations and maintenance1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
5 September 1997Debris and open burning2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2007Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 1995Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2011Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 1998Debris and open burning2.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
11 September 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
8 August 1999Natural7.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 2008Naturalunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Georgetown County

Storms near this property

13 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Plantersville, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1995 and 2020: 5 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 2 flash flood, 1 lightning. The reports record 1 death and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 2018Flash FloodPlantersville1 killed, $20,000A person accidentally drove into a flooded area and drowned.
May 2015LightningPlantersville1 hurtA man was under his truck when it was struck by lightning. He sustained only minor injuries.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindPlantersville$7,000A National Weather Service Storm Survey found 10 pine trees down. The damage was the result of a microburst.
June 2016Thunderstorm WindPlantersville$3,000Trees were reported down in the 14000 block of N Fraser Street.
October 2015Flash FloodPlantersville$2,000Portions of Lamb Road were reported flooded.
June 2020HailPlantersville-Quarter size hail was reported in Plantersville.
August 2000HailPlantersville-Fire department reported dime size hail.
April 1999HailPlantersville-Sheriff reported hail and wind gusts over 60 mph causing a power outage in the area.
July 1997Thunderstorm WindPlantersville-WIND GUST TO 50 KTS DOWNED TREES IN THE YAUHANNAH COMMUNITY (ABOUT 5N OF PLANTERSVILLE)
July 1995Thunderstorm WindPlantersville-Trees down.
May 1999HailPlantersville-no account filed
April 1997HailPlantersville-no account filed
March 1996Thunderstorm WindPlantersville-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Georgetown County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 74001858 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Georgetown CountyAll 38 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.