BlockBefore

Evan J. Lide House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

“Lide House, also known as Meade House, is a historic home located at Springville, Darlington County, South Carolina. It was built about 1839, and is a rectangular, two-story gable-roofed weatherboard-clad dwelling.”

Wikipedia article Evan J. Lide House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 52 National Register listings published here for Darlington County · listed in 1985 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listing status. The Park Service records this property as Removed.
  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Lide, Evan J., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. W of CR 228 NW of SC 34, Springville, 29540
  • When was it listed? October 1985
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Springville MRA
  • Census division. Darlington
  • National Register reference number. 85003139 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

314 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 314 fires within 5 miles of Evan J. Lide House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,276 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 22 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning146
Missing data/not specified/undetermined103
Arson/incendiarism22
Equipment and vehicle use14
Misuse of fire by a minor14
Railroad operations and maintenance9
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Smoking2
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2018Power generation/transmission/distribution3.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2011Railroad operations and maintenance1.5 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 2007Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2010Debris and open burning1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2010Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
13 September 2018Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 2003Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Darlington County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Evan J. Lide House: 2 unknowns, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Titanium, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Buckholtz CreekTitanium, IronUnknownPlacer , Modern , Fluvial
Darington PitSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayUnknownSedimentary
Darington PitSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayProducer

Every working recorded in Darlington County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Wilds Hall0.9 miles1985
John L. Hart House1.1 miles1985
Arthur Goodson House1.1 miles1985
Clarence McCall House1.6 miles1988
John W. Lide House1.7 miles1985
Cashua Street-Spring Street Historic District1.9 miles1988

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85003139 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Darlington CountyAll 52 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.