BlockBefore
Photograph of Long Creek Academy
Photograph by KudzuVine, Public domain. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Long Creek Academy

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

From the record

“The Long Creek Academy is a former Christian school that is located at the intersection of Academy Road and South Carolina S-37-339 near U.S. Route 76 near Long Creek, South Carolina in Oconee County.”

Wikipedia article Long Creek Academy, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 24 National Register listings published here for Oconee County · listed in 1987 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. CR 14, Long Creek, 29664
  • When was it listed? November 1987
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Long Creek
  • National Register reference number. 87002059 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

90 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 90 fires within 5 miles of Long Creek Academy between 1992 and 2019, burning about 1,047 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning29
Arson/incendiarism24
Equipment and vehicle use10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Recreation and ceremony4
Natural4
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Smoking2
Fireworks2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
24 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2011-DADE-009
14 September 2010Debris and open burningunder an acreGeorgia Forestry CommissionFY2011-DADE-008
14 September 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
22 August 1999Natural1.0 acresFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsCIRCLING PLANE
21 August 1999Natural20 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
6 July 1997Fireworksunder an acreFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsGRAPEVINE BRANCH
4 July 1997Fireworksunder an acreFrancis Marion & Sumter National ForestsHWY 76

Every fire recorded in Oconee County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Long Creek Academy: 2 prospects, 1 past producer, 1 unknown. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gold, Mica, Marble, Dimension. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bruce Doyle & Reedy Burns ProspectsMicaProspect
Marble ProspectMarble, DimensionProspect
Henckel MineGoldPast Producer
Henckel MineGoldUnknown1908

Every working recorded in Oconee County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Stumphouse Tunnel Complex7.4 miles1971

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 87002059 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Oconee CountyAll 24 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.