BlockBefore

Towles Farmstead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994.

From the record

“Towles Farmstead, also known as Goshen Plantation and Plainsfield, is a historic farmstead and national historic district located near Meggett, Charleston County, South Carolina. The district encompasses 11 contributing buildings, 2 contributing sites, and 1 contributing structure.”

Wikipedia article Towles Farmstead, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 227 National Register listings published here for Charleston County · listed in 1994 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 4595, 4611 Towles Rd., Meggett, 29449
  • When was it listed? January 1994
  • Category. district
  • Census division. Ravenel-Hollywood
  • National Register reference number. 93001513 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

208 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 208 fires within 5 miles of Towles Farmstead between 1992 and 2019, burning about 873 acres in total. None started naturally. 40 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined79
Debris and open burning77
Arson/incendiarism40
Misuse of fire by a minor7
Equipment and vehicle use3
Railroad operations and maintenance2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
22 September 1997Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2003Debris and open burningunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined30 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
9 July 2000Equipment and vehicle use15 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
3 July 1996Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
4 June 2002Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
3 June 2001Debris and open burning1.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named
18 June 2006Railroad operations and maintenance5.0 acresSouth Carolina Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Charleston County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Towles Farmstead: 7 unknowns, 5 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron, Thorium, Zirconium, Titanium, Iron, Zirconium, Thorium, Titanium, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Land Associates PitSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayUnknownSedimentary
Land Associates PitSand and Gravel, Construction, ClayProducer
Ravenels QuadrangleIron, Zirconium, Thorium, TitaniumUnknownPlacer , Modern , Beach
WadmalawIron, Thorium, Zirconium, TitaniumUnknownPlacer , Modern , Beach
17 South Pit(Jacksonboro Rd Mine)Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Banks Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknownSedimentary
Banks Sand PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Chaplan Landing MineSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
Chaplin Landing Fill PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknownSedimentary
Cleckley PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknownSedimentary

Every working recorded in Charleston County

Storms near this property

3 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Meggett, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2009 and 2022: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
October 2015Flash FloodMeggett$728,550Law enforcement reported several roads closed due to flooding in the Meggett area. Roads closed included Toogoodoo Road at the intersection of Coon Club Road and the intersection of Oakville Road as well as New Road at the intersection with Highway 162.
June 2009Thunderstorm WindMeggett$500A trained weather spotter estimated a wind gust of 60 to 70 mph in Meggett, South Carolina. The winds broke a flag pole rated for 100 mph winds.
April 2022Thunderstorm WindMeggett-A fire department reported a large tree blocking State Route 165 near the intersection with Long Island Road.

Every storm recorded in Charleston County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Stono River Slave Rebellion Site5.2 miles1974
Summit Plantation House6.1 miles1983
Hebron Presbyterian Church6.3 miles2025
John's Island Presbyterian Church6.5 miles1975
John Seabrook Plantation Bridge6.6 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93001513 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Charleston CountyAll 227 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.