From the record
One of 42 National Register listings published here for Brown County · listed in 2000 · category: Structure.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2000.
One of 42 National Register listings published here for Brown County · listed in 2000 · category: Structure.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of South Dakota Dept. of Transportation Bridge No. 07-304-414 between 2000 and 2017, burning about 171 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Groton Volunteer Fire Department | MIKE HARRY |
| 30 August 2017 | Equipment and vehicle use | 24 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | SECTION 16 |
| 13 August 2014 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | VOLLMER |
| 19 March 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | RICK |
| 13 November 2003 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | not named |
| 31 October 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | BALL |
| 29 October 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | SHADS WOODS |
| 12 October 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 120 acres | South Dakota Wildland Fire Suppression | BADE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ferney, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1995 and 2022: 13 hail, 4 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ferney | - | Sixty mph winds twisted, tore, and bent over some of the corn crop. |
| July 2022 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| August 2021 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2015 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| July 2015 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2012 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2009 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2006 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| July 2004 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 2001 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| June 1999 | Hail | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| July 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ferney | - | no account filed |
| July 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ferney | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anna Herron Farm | 5.9 miles | 1995 | |
![]() | Trinity Episcopal Church | 7.6 miles | 1983 |
| First Presbyterian Church of Groton | 7.6 miles | 2019 | |
![]() | McKenzie-Cassels House | 7.8 miles | 1986 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 00000187 in Record Group 79. |
| Brown County | All 42 listed properties in this county. |