From the record
One of 12 National Register listings published here for Roberts County · listed in 2005 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.
One of 12 National Register listings published here for Roberts County · listed in 2005 · category: District.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 21 fires within 5 miles of Knapp Ranch between 1992 and 2017, burning about 573 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 10 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
| Fireworks | 3 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 September 2000 | Debris and open burning | 22 acres | Sisseton Agency | OWL LAKE |
| 29 August 2010 | Fireworks | 1.0 acres | Sisseton Agency | ST PARK |
| 6 July 2006 | Fireworks | 1.6 acres | Sisseton Agency | OWL LAKE |
| 5 July 2002 | Fireworks | 2.0 acres | Sisseton Agency | CLARKSCORN |
| 19 June 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.5 acres | Waubay Wetland Management District | WIKE |
| 1 June 2003 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Sisseton Agency | DARRELL RE |
| 25 May 2002 | Debris and open burning | 17 acres | Sisseton Agency | NPICKLAKE |
| 10 May 1992 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Sisseton Agency | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ortley, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1996 and 2025: 6 hail, 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 tornado, 2 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2025 | Flash Flood | Ortley | $50,000 | Emergency management reports several county and township roads under water, in addition to the number of streets under water in the city of Sisseton. Flooding would impact numerous businesses, including Lakes Gas, where about 40 propane tanks were observed floating in flood waters. Numerous cars were also inundated by these flood waters. |
| August 2009 | Flash Flood | Ortley | $5,000 | no account filed |
| August 2023 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ortley | - | A heavy wooden trailer with a water tank on it was blown approximately 150 yards across two ditches before hitting a neighbors house. |
| May 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ortley | - | Trees were uprooted in Ortley by estimated 75 mph winds. |
| July 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ortley | - | Sixty mph winds were estimated. |
| July 2018 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| July 2018 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| June 2012 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| June 2012 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| May 2011 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| May 1998 | Hail | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Tornado (F0) | Ortley | - | no account filed |
| May 1996 | Tornado (F0) | Ortley | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 05000282 in Record Group 79. |
| Roberts County | All 12 listed properties in this county. |