BlockBefore

Tom Jones Ranch

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990.

From the record

One of 7 National Register listings published here for Jackson County · listed in 1990 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. Jones, Tom, Ranch - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 5 1/2 mi. S of Midland, Midland, 57521
  • When was it listed? October 1990
  • Category. district
  • Unorganized territory. Northeast Jackson
  • National Register reference number. 90001653 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

2 since 2007

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 2 fires within 5 miles of Tom Jones Ranch between 2007 and 2012, burning about 101 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 August 2007Natural45 acresSouth Dakota Wildland Fire Suppressionnot named
24 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined56 acresSouth Dakota Wildland Fire SuppressionSCHOFIELD

Every fire recorded in Jackson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 90001653 in Record Group 79.
Jackson CountyAll 7 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.