From the record
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Gonzales County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017.
One of 15 National Register listings published here for Gonzales County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of First Shot Monuments Historic District between 2006 and 2015, burning about 25 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 4 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2 September 2015 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | HORNUNG |
| 19 July 2009 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 2.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | OAK FOREST |
| 18 April 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
| 23 February 2006 | Debris and open burning | 10 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
| 17 February 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 3.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | 90WFIRE |
| 7 November 2010 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | HAYFEILD ON CR140 |
| 3 January 2013 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | 13-0003 |
| 11 January 2006 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Texas A & M Forest Service | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cost, the town this property stands in, in 3 storm reports between 2002 and 2019: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Cost | $150,000 | Severe thunderstorm winds blew roofs off buildings just south of Cost. |
| June 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Cost | $5,000 | A thunderstorm produced wind gusts estimated at 70 mph that blew down trees and power lines in Cost. |
| April 2016 | Hail | Cost | - | A thunderstorm produced 1.5 inch hail near FM 1116 and CR 195 south of Gonzales. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Kennard House | 5.1 miles | 1971 |
![]() | Thomas Harrison and Mollie Spooner House | 5.5 miles | 2003 |
![]() | Gonzales Commercial Historic District | 5.5 miles | 1996 |
![]() | Gonzales County Courthouse | 5.5 miles | 1972 |
![]() | Gonzales County Jail | 5.6 miles | 1975 |
![]() | William Buckner and Sue Houston House | 5.8 miles | 2003 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100000673 in Record Group 79. |
| Gonzales County | All 15 listed properties in this county. |