BlockBefore

Alton, Utah

14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1886 and the latest in 1980. It stands in the Orderville census division. It lies in ZIP code area 84710. The Survey maps it on the Alton quadrangle. 118 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 7,041 feet above sea level.

Alton within Kane County

Population over time

2 figures

Alton fell from 119 to 118 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.

YearPeople Change
2010119
2020118-1 (-1%)

Topographic sheets covering this place

6 surveys from 14 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

80 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 80 fires within 5 miles of Alton between 1992 and 2020, burning about 240 acres in total. 49 started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural49
Missing data/not specified/undetermined22
Debris and open burning4
Arson/incendiarism2
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBROOKSBY
30 September 2011Naturalunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsDETOUR
25 September 2012Naturalunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSMOLDER
19 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State Landsnot named
18 September 2004Naturalunder an acreDixie National ForestJUMP UP 2
14 September 1999Naturalunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsMAJORS
11 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsTREE IN ROAD
1 September 2006Naturalunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsHILLTOP

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Kane County

Mines and quarries near this place

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Alton: 10 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Alton South Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSurface
Alton South Gravel Pit No.1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Alton South Gravel Pit No.2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Alton South Gravel Pits #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSurface
Hill Top Gravel PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerGravel, Sand
Hill Top Gravel PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kanab Creek Gravel PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSurface
Kanab Creek Gravel PitsSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Sink Valley Borrow PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerGravel, Sand
Sink Valley Borrow PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Kane County

Storms near this place

8 since 2010

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Alton in 8 storm reports between 2010 and 2024: 8 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
August 2010Flash FloodAlton$10,000Heavy rain caused flash flooding near the Skutumpah Road, damaging the road. As a result, rangers were cut off from traveling throughout the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument.
July 2024Flash FloodAlton$1,000Flash flooding was reported along Sheep Creek Road near Kodachrome Basin. The road was reported to have experienced flash flooding in several areas over a 5 to 6 mile stretch requiring heavy equipment cleanup due to mud and debris. Report noted from Kodachrome State Park official as well as NWS employee.
August 2024Flash FloodAlton-The Paria River near Kanab gauge recorded a peak flow of 1270 cfs when the flood wave passed through.
August 2024Flash FloodAlton-A roughly 700 cfs flash flood was recorded by the Paria River near Kanab gauge at 12:40 a.m. MDT.
August 2024Flash FloodAlton-The Paria River near Kanab gauge recorded a crest of 830 cfs at 9 a.m. MDT as the peak of the flood wave passed by the gauge.
July 2018Flash FloodAlton-Heavy rain produced a large flash flood in Johnson Canyon.
July 2018Flash FloodAlton-Heavy rain produced flash flooding in the city of Kanab. Water was reported to have been rushing over roads at the mouth of Kanab Creek in town.
July 2010Flash FloodAlton-Flash flooding occurred along the Skutumpah Road slot canyons, including Johnson Wash.

Every storm recorded in Kane County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Long Valley Junction3.8 miles16
Glendale10.3 miles15
Duck Creek Village11.2 miles19
Orderville13.9 miles15
Mount Carmel16.3 miles15
Navajo lake Lodge17.9 miles19
Mount Carmel Junction18.1 miles15
Georgetown23.7 miles16

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikipedia article on AltonAn encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied.
Wikidata item Q483441The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1438182. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.