BlockBefore

Verd's Fruit Market Complex

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.

From the record

One of 183 National Register listings published here for Utah County · listed in 2010 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listing status. The Park Service records this property as Removed.
  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 4 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 1320 N State St, Orem, 84057
  • When was it listed? September 2010
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Orem, Utah MPS
  • Census division. Provo-Orem
  • National Register reference number. 10000731 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

162 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 162 fires within 5 miles of Verd's Fruit Market Complex between 1992 and 2020, burning about 8,088 acres in total. 15 started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined55
Recreation and ceremony23
Arson/incendiarism20
Natural15
Debris and open burning14
Fireworks12
Equipment and vehicle use7
Misuse of fire by a minor7
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Railroad operations and maintenance3
Firearms and explosives use1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsCASCADE FIRE
6 September 2019Equipment and vehicle use16 acresUinta-Wasatch-Cache National ForestDRY CANYON 2
6 September 2001Debris and open burningunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSHIP FIRE
5 September 1996Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBMT
5 September 1996Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsHARVEY'S
5 September 1996Arson/incendiarism7.5 acresUinta-Wasatch-Cache National ForestEAST LAWN
4 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined7.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsOREM PEAT BOG 4
4 September 1997Fireworksunder an acreUinta-Wasatch-Cache National ForestSQUAW PEAK OVERLOOK

Every fire recorded in Utah County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 26 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 26 workings within 5 miles of Verd's Fruit Market Complex: 12 past producers, 10 producers, 4 occurrences. 10 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay, Fire Clay (Refractory). Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Mcfarland DepositFire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Stubbs PitFire Clay (Refractory)Past Producer
Ellis Clay PitClayPast ProducerSurface
Ellis Mcfarland and Smith PitsClayProducer
Ellis, Mcfarland & Smith PitsClayOccurrence
Mcfarland Clay PitClayPast ProducerSurface
Pole Canyon Clay DepositClayOccurrenceSurface
Pole Canyon Clay DepositClayPast Producer
Provo Brick & Tile Co.ClayProducer
Smith Clay DepositClayOccurrence

Every working recorded in Utah County

Storms near this property

13 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Orem, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1995 and 2023: 7 thunderstorm wind, 3 lightning, 2 hail, 1 heavy rain. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 1998Heavy RainOrem$260,000no account filed
June 1998LightningOrem$50,000no account filed
September 1997LightningOrem$10,000no account filed
August 2004Thunderstorm WindOrem$5,000no account filed
May 2000LightningOrem$1,500Lightning struck a church in Orem, causing about $1,500 damage.
August 2023Thunderstorm WindOrem-A carport partially collapsed at an apartment complex.
July 2005Thunderstorm WindOrem-Powerlines down in downtown in Orem. Wind report from AWS
July 2002Thunderstorm WindOrem-Spotters in Orem estimated thunderstorm wind gusts of 50-60 mph (43-52 kts). Some minor tree damage was reported.
April 2000HailOrem-A severe thunderstorm dropped 3/4 inch hail in West Orem.
April 2000Thunderstorm WindOrem-A severe thunderstorm produced a wind gust of 69mph (60kts) in West Orem.
May 1995Thunderstorm WindOrem-Thunderstorms developed over the eastern portions of the Salt Lake and Provo valleys. One inch hail was reported at the University of Utah in Salt Lake City.
May 1995Thunderstorm WindOrem-no account filed
May 1995HailOrem-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Utah County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
David and Drusilla Baxter House0.4 miles1998
William J. and Lizzie Cullimore House0.4 miles1998
Cecil I. and Mildred H. Dimick House0.7 miles1998
Alvin and Grace Washburn House0.8 miles1999
McBride-Sims Garage1.0 miles1998
Lars and Agnes Jensen House1.7 miles1999

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 10000731 in Record Group 79.
Utah CountyAll 183 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.