BlockBefore

Thurber School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.

From the record

One of 183 National Register listings published here for Utah County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Still standing. The Park Service records this property as extant.
  • Address. 40 S Main St, Spanish Fork, 84660
  • When was it listed? November 2024
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Spanish Fork-Payson
  • National Register reference number. 100011044 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

239 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 239 fires within 5 miles of Thurber School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,261 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined146
Debris and open burning54
Equipment and vehicle use10
Arson/incendiarism8
Misuse of fire by a minor4
Natural4
Railroad operations and maintenance4
Fireworks3
Recreation and ceremony3
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2008Debris and open burningunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State Lands8660 S.
7 September 2009Debris and open burningunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsPOWERHOUSE RD.
7 September 2002Other causesunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsOUT HOUSE FIRE
6 September 2001Arson/incendiarismunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSALEM CANAL FIRE
5 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State Lands10J RXR
5 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsACE
4 September 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSWEDE LANE
4 September 1996Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSHINGLE

Every fire recorded in Utah County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 34 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 34 workings within 5 miles of Thurber School: 20 producers, 11 past producers, 1 occurrence, 1 prospect. 20 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Gold, Silver, Geothermal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Castilla Hot SpringsGeothermalUnknown
Clay Canyon DepositGemstoneProducer
Dream MineGold, SilverProspect
MilkmaidSilver, Lead, GoldPast ProducerReplacement
Silver Hill PropertyManganeseProducer
UnknownLimestone, GeneralProducer
Us Ferto CorpPhosphorus-PhosphatesProducer
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerClay, Quartzite, Sand, Sandstone
Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Mapleton Ne Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerUnconsolidated Sediments

Every working recorded in Utah County

Storms near this property

9 since 2001

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Spanish Fork, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 2001 and 2023: 5 thunderstorm wind, 3 flash flood, 1 hail. The reports record 1 death. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2001Thunderstorm WindSpanish Fork1 killedA 46-year-old man was killed after a strong Microburst blew his fireworks stand on top of him.
July 2012Thunderstorm WindSpanish Fork$10,000A sensor near Point of the Mountain, named Portable RWIS #2, recorded a maximum wind gust of 58 mph. In addition, damage was reported in the Spanish Fork area, with multiple trees and power lines blown over.
June 2003Thunderstorm WindSpanish Fork$2,000Strong microburst winds knocked down small trees and power lines in Spanish Fork. Wind gusts recorded in the event included 69 mph (60 kts) in Orem and 54 mph (47 mph) in Payson.
July 2023Thunderstorm WindSpanish Fork$500Public report of approximately 3 to 4 inch diameter tree limbs broken.
July 2021Thunderstorm WindSpanish Fork-A large tree was blown down.
June 2006Flash FloodSpanish Fork-Heavy rain resulted in flooding of 3 Forks Creek. Numerous mudslides reported. Campgroud evacuated by law enforcement.
June 2006HailSpanish Fork-Estimated size
July 2005Flash FloodSpanish Fork-Water and debris covering Rt 6, reporetd by Dept of Highways.
July 2005Flash FloodSpanish Fork-Mud water and debris covering RT 6.

Every storm recorded in Utah County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Spanish Fork High School Gymnasium0.3 miles1985
David H. Jones House0.3 miles1985
Thompson Family Farmstead1.1 miles2023
Ira W. Gardner House3.9 miles1977
John Hafen House3.9 miles1982
Wood-Harrison House4.2 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100011044 in Record Group 79.
Utah CountyAll 183 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.